Quite A Show By The Family– Theatre Before And After Right Now

This is turning out to be The Year of The Theatre for our family. This is also the longest I think I’ve ever gone without writing because of my five-month theatre stint. When a major project takes over your life, you par down to the essentials until it flows away. This year, and for this project, this space became a non-essential.

What large project, you say? Oh, just writing, recruiting, producing and directing a roadshow. Our roadshow ended up being about pirates that turn into ninjas and attack the storytellers, who are sitting in a fort, by tying them up with rope and duct tape. But that’s okay, because that’s what the storytellers planned on doing to their little sister, who ended up saving them with her hidden ninja skills.

Not even two weeks after the cast party, I went to a wedding. (I also attended two out-of-state weddings this summer.) While I was at the wedding, my husband babysat and worked from home. He also attended an audition for a play at a local theatre and got a part. Naturally, being twice as talented as me. He asked me about my opinion on the matter, of course.

“I just finished with a big theatre commitment while you supported by babysitting; there’s no reason why you can’t have your turn while I babysit,” I told him. And I meant it.

My resolve was weakened a little bit when he and I were calendaring with his production schedule. He’s got an entire month of performances. This floored me, and still does— all theatre productions I’ve ever been in perform for a week, maybe two. Or perform for an entire month of weekends, so the weeknights aren’t committed to performance. But every day for a month? Phew.

I just keep telling myself to take it one week at a time. It’ll be prime opportunity to toilet train, and I hope to have plenty of little activities to break up monotony— dinners with friends, church activities, outings with Toby, painting one wall at a time…

This is a time for me to pull out all the stops and all the tricks up my sleeve. It’s bound to be quite a show.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on September 9, 2012, in From Moss-Lined Oregon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

