Break It Open & Read: “Your Dreams Will Come True.”

Most of the time, I’m good-natured. I roll with the punches and adapt to the needs of my boys. If I didn’t, I wouldn’t like my job very much. But when I get a fortune cookie, a very rigid set of expectations comes out that surprises those who are also holding fortune cookies around me. My brow furrows like I’m taking the fortune to heart, like I really think it foretells my future.

This is not the case.

No matter what it says, it goes on my blue bookcase.

I’ve found that many fortunes written don’t predict anything. They’re written in the same mystic language as horoscopes, but they just state something that exists. Some examples from my bookcase:

“You have a natural grace and a great consideration for others.”
“Everyone has ambitions.”
“There is no mistake so great as that of always being right.”
“Romance and travel go together now.”

Close to the statement is the advice fortune. It’s not technically foretelling the future, and it still feels like a fortune sometimes because occasionally, the advice matches what you’re dealing with at the moment. Stuff like:

“Don’t worry about the stock market. Invest in family.”
“Rely on close friends to give you advice.”
“Things are not always what they seem. It’s not that bad!”

I find both of these types of fortunes to be annoying, but the first group more so.

I remembered this particular annoyance when I bought a baby shower gift for a friend. I wanted to give her handmade fortune cookie booties that come in a take-out box. Because they’re handmade, I could choose what message to put in as the fortune.

I found that I liked “An amazing journey awaits you” for the left foot, but changed the seller’s suggestion of “From small beginnings comes great things” to a more active “From small beginnings will come great things.”

The girl with a girl on the way loved them, especially when I handed the gift to her right after she commented, “Oh, I love Asian-inspired stuff.”

(Also seen on Uncommongoods, which is where I first fell in love with them. But at her Etsy site, you can personalize the message.)

Before you ask, the oldest fortune I’ve kept has sat in a teacup with a dried rosebud, a tiny rabbit finger puppet, and bits of ribbon that are too small to be re-used. Recently, I recalled why I put the contents of that teacup together and have since moved the fortune to my bookcase with the others.

It says, “Your dreams will come true.”

Ever the romantic, I got this fortune as a teenager. My dreams at the time were to fall in love, get married, make a home, and begin a family of my own. The finger puppet represented children to me, the pieces of ribbon were romance, and the teacup was the home for the finger puppet. The rosebud reminded that all of these were unfulfilled, unbloomed, still vague possibilities.

Well, they’re a happy reality now. I’m thrilled that prediction came true.

But if you see me in a Chinese restaurant, frowning and grumbling and grouching over something in my hand, if it doesn’t have bad spelling or grammar, I just don’t like my fortune.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on May 23, 2012, in From Moss-Lined Oregon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

