Response To A Letter From A Fellow Artist

Thanks for the constructive criticism, Margot. I appreciate your exactness and professionalism regarding ATCs and that you take such pride in your work to be specific about those details. I also appreciate that you reached out and expressed it instead of keeping it inside you.

Honestly, I can’t see the jaggedness or the unevenness or the extra glue in my cards. I’m legally blind, and I enjoy the colors and the images. I’m in the middle of trying to see composition and visual balance instead, as that’s a concern for collage artists like me.

On the card I sent you, I was more concerned about whether there ought to be a purple line at the top of the card to balance out the purple lines elsewhere. I’m not used to having a lone, central figure in my collages and this ATC shows that struggle.

I’m improving, though. Last month marked my one year anniversary for making ATCs; the edges of my first ATCs were remarkably crooked and definitely not straight.

Currently, I don’t really have scissors and knives that are sharp, nor do I really expect to. I’ve got a small family that’s fresh out of college and only planning on expanding. I remember, as a kid, never being able to find scissors (or tape) because everyone used them in all places of the house. The slightly sharper scissors were reserved for sewing and cloth.

I don’t expect my home to be any different any time soon. Currently, I know where all the scissors are in the house. That’s good enough for me.

Feel free to trade my card out to someone else if you don’t want to keep it–that’s why they’re called “Trading Cards”, right? I won’t be offended or anything if you trade it–it’s exhilarating to me to know that my art is traveling to unknown-to-me places and being enjoyed by people whom I don’t know.

I have no excuse for the thick ink on the back; I winced when I started writing, but decided it would look worse if I changed pens midway through. What can I say? My handwriting is big and I’m just bold, and I guess I’m just one of those artists who are slightly sloppy.

There’s lots of love in that card, though. I’ve saved that bird since September of–well, since I started making ATCs, I guess. And orange is my favorite color. And those purple lines, or the lack of one at top, got more agonization and worry than usual.

Thanks again. I really do appreciate it, if nothing more than for the excuse to type all this out. I needed a writing exercise this week.

-Kate

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on October 24, 2011, in From Moss-Lined Oregon and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I still can’t find a decent pair of scissors in the house Kate. Your sister has a special drawer for her pair and the rest of us just struggle to keep organized….oh well. I buy me a new pair every year when I’m purchasing the kiddos school supplies. Maybe at our house we have the scissor monster instead of the sock monster. Momma Jo

Leave a Reply

