An Absent Filter For Music Flow

I try my best to pick music that has good lyrics and movies that have worthwhile messages. It’s just a personal standard I require of myself. Yes, the self-restraint comes from my religion [I’m LDS], but I choose to live it. I don’t like watching unrealistic sexual portrayals and lots of blood and gore. It’s not because I’m a wimp, but because I know I’m a human being who is subconsciously sensitive to extreme and intense portrayals of life.

(If you’d like to read more about this particular self-requirement, I’ve written about it from a different angle, four years ago.)

This doesn’t work when I listen to the radio. I do it more often now, and as much as I love having rhythm and melody flood my kitchen at a constant stream, I worry about the lyrics that accompany the music. I don’t want my home to be filled with curse words, and I can’t filter that because I have a hard time understanding lyrics to songs I don’t have memorized.

I spent a period of weeks worrying about this until I voiced it. And the person I was talking to said something profound:

“Kate, don’t sweat it. If you’re eating something at a restaurant, you can’t see the specific ingredient list. If you just don’t like corn, and you’re eating it, blissfully unaware, then it’ll pass by your palate. But you’ll enjoy the meal. If you’re swimming in a stream, but a bear has peed in it upstream, then you’ll swim in it. But you’ll have fun swimming anyway.”

The best I can do, then, is to pick radio stations that seem to promote songs with clean language and then change the station when I recognize specific songs. I can teach my children how to install their own personal filter, and I’ll just have to trust them to change the station for me.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on January 20, 2011, in From Moss-Lined Oregon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

