Borrowing Art, As You Would a Book, or, Walking Out the Doors With a Painting

When walking to the Science Fiction section for adults from the main doors of the Salem Library, I pass through a very specific hall.

I don’t spend too much time in front of that particular bookshelf; in the two weeks that a set of books is allowed to be taken out at one time, I read many more children’s books for Toby than I do adult books for myself. Thus, when passing back through that hall, I had only two books of short stories in my hands. One which I would later renew because I hadn’t even cracked it.

I have stopped in this hall before. There’s a beautiful set of tiny drawers in that hall that I inquired about during a previous trip to the library. I knew what card catalogs were before, and I knew how most of them worked, but this one had a bar through the cards. And most card catalog cabinets are empty now. Being a member of the curious sort, I pulled out a drawer and spent the rest of that particular trip learning about this specific card catalog from the librarians there.

But something else caught my eye while passing through that hall: a painting. I stood and admired, then sat down in front of it and ab

Now Hanging In Our Study--Above My Chaise

sorbed. I had wondered, before, why paintings were propped up in a sliding glass cabinet instead of properly hung on the wall, but was more intent on books. I had chalked it up to funny and outdated means of security. Maybe the glass doors were locked so as to prevent people from filching cool art from the walls and walking off with it.

I was so taken by this painting that I investigated. Boldly, like a thief testing the security of the thing she wants to steal. And, lo, the glass doors slid smoothly in their tracks. And I was startled. So I began walking up and down the hall, examining the walls. And sure enough, at the beginning of the hall, above a table and next to one of the painting cabinets, there was a smallish sign that explained a concept called Art on the Go.

Yes. Apparently, you can check out art from the library. And I did, with much glee.

Easy–pass back and forth across the check-out counter, along with my library card. They also loaned me a cool padded bag (handmade by Northwest Textile Center’s Cottage Industry) with which to carry it out. And I did, with a large grin.

NOTE: I was going to post a close-up of the image I was so taken with. But it’s original art that someone worked hard at creating, not a picture that anyone can potentially yank from this site and use however they want. So if you like it, visit the library and Enchanted Forest 167/250 can hang on your wall too. After I’m finished savoring it.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on January 11, 2011, in From Moss-Lined Oregon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. The Original Kate

    A detail I forgot to mention: If you want to check out art, the check-out period is longer than a book; it’s 6-9 weeks.

  2. Wow! I’ve never heard of this! What a great idea! I just responded to your comment on nonewplastic.com, and I had the same issue going without shampoo. However, I just started using only conditioner every other day, and now my scalp & hair are back to being super fantastic. Maybe it will work for you too!
    -Melanie Jade

    • The Original Kate

      It’s worked for me, too! I’ve been using the same conditioner you have, and my dandruff is gone, gone, gone. I cleaned my local Target out of the two One conditioner bars they have, and I only hope they restock such a great product.

      What would you call the scent of this conditioner bar? My husband thinks it smells like candy.

  3. What a wonderful idea! I have never heard of such a thing but think the concept is a fabulous one! It is wonderful when a piece of art grabs your heart and won’t release it. To linger in its presence hoping to take it in and absorb the details of it in our memory. How fun!
    You are my swap partner for the Library card ATC swap on swap bot. Thought I’d come have a lok around and try to get to know you better.
    Tammy

    • The Original Kate

      I’m thrilled you like it as much as I do. And I’m thrilled you dropped by; I work hard here to keep up my writing skillz.

      I’m looking forward to starting the swap thing; I took a class just last summer on ATCs and I’ve made seven since then. Since ATCs are for swapping, I thought I’d start.

      I have one question that I can’t find an answer to, and maybe you might help. I’m curious whether there is any etiquette to mailing the ATCs. It’s a type 3 swap, which suggests we should use a package. Do you just use envelopes when you mail yours? Mine is mostly flat and would be fine wrapped in two layers of paper and not bubble wrap.

  1. Pingback: Published Art Admiration, or I Check Out Children’s Books For Myself | Explore with Twine

Leave a Reply

