Annie Oakley: That Scarf, Those Shoes, That Blouse

I love Annie Oakley’s style. This isn’t another look-alike post. Instead, think more along the analysis that a sartorialist would give.

No, Don't Look At The Fringe--Instead, That Gorgeous Scarf.

I first came upon this opinion after watching PBS. I had only a vague knowledge of the name because it’s often mentioned when girls dress up in cowboy getup. Someone mentioned to me once that I looked like her, so I intentionally watched a biography to see if there was any truth to it. After watching one slow span after another of photos, I began to realize something: Annie had a radical dressing style.

The biography soon gave commentary on that subject. She was a woman of the Victorian Era, and women of that era wore long skirts and their hair up. Yet Annie chose not to. Her hair was always down and her skirts were to her calves. Sometimes she wore the shooting medals she’d won, sometimes she wore a cowboy hat, and sometimes, she wore riding gloves.

I don’t like the look of cowboy hats or brown, fringed dresses. I don’t like fringed gloves or that any girl who’s wearing anything cowboy-ish is called Annie Oakley. But I like that Annie is remembered for the image she carefully created; she skipped on stage, pouted when she pretended to miss, and stamped her foot like the little girl her dresses implied. And yet she wore corsets.

Annie Looking Backwards At Her Target

She was clearly a woman of her own very conscious invention, even though she had to work within the social mores of her time. I’m the same way–I don’t have the time or energy to completely invent my own clothing, so I have to stay with what I can find in stores. Annie embroidered and embellished her own costumes, but she wasn’t a fashion designer. She was a girl with talent.

I Just Have One Question: What Are Those Shoes Called & Where Can I Get Some?

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on December 27, 2010, in From Moss-Lined Oregon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. It’s not the shoes you’re after, it’s those spats.

    • The Original Kate

      Spats–that’s what those things are called! Thank you, Sue–I’m off to Wikipedia and all my shopping sources to find a pair. Do you have any experience with spats? Do you know how to wear them, what the sizing is, and any good sources for purchase?

  2. The Original Kate

    UPDATED: the best place, so far, to buy spats is on Etsy. From From an American SAHM in Italy and a overachieving student in Idaho, here you go. I’m sure there are more.

  3. Highly descriptive post, I loved that a lot. Will there be a
    part 2?

    • The Original Kate

      I wasn’t planning on it, but it depends on what you’re looking for. I think this is the extent of my admiration for Annie, if that’s what you want more of. What were you hoping for?

      Thus ends the comment where every sentence ends in a preposition.

Leave a Reply

