From Sustenance to Supplement: A Respite

You’ve wondered what I’m doing during this month-long respite. I’ll tell you that it’s nothing monumental, but it’s also things that are away from the computer.

I told a new friend of mine, during one of our first encounters, that I blog. She said, thoroughly baffled, “When do you live life?”

So, during this month of September, I’ve been attending free classes at the C4 Academy in the Clockworks Community Center. I’ve been going to book club meetings and swimming parties and dinner shuffles. I went to the State Fair, where I built another sandcastle. I want to learn to build sand castles, you see, and that means finding sand. Sand isn’t good near computers.

I got birthday cards and a candy bouquet yesterday. Also, a beautiful necklace and a cool key to add to my collection. I attended a blogging class taught by the lovely Emily, who’s shorter than I thought she’d be. There, I found I contributed more to the class than I got out of it and disagreed with many of Emily’s points.

I also came to the conclusion that I’m never going to have high traffic or good Google hits, and it’s because I don’t want my space to be positioned to be so. I prefer it to be graceful, and grace, to me, does not include the words “recipe”, “politics”, or “jalepeno”: specific words that might draw people here.

Emily used the word “literary” last night when referring to long entry titles with subtle meanings. I’ve decided that I like my text to have weight and depth more than I want it to be popular. I’d also like to have conversations here, in my space, but it doesn’t happen. I suspect I’m just not constantly controversial, and that’s okay.

For me, the Internet supplements life, but does not sustain. Emily confirms that a blogger ought to read blogs for 40 hours a day. I used to do that. Right now, I’d rather gleam with happiness from experiencing life out of the computer. Or tend to Toby’s higher-toned whine, which began on my birthday. This new tone makes me slam things in frustration.

Ah, well. I still use this to write of both the good and the dumb. And I remember this, which has a tone that contradicts most of what I disagreed with last night. Read on.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on September 28, 2010, in From Moss-Lined Oregon. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The Original Kate

    (And Emily, you still rock, even though I clashed with the “must put your whole name on your blog” opinion . Because you gave a free class in the first place. And that takes heart and dedication to the craft. And you have gorgeous lips.)

Leave a Reply

