Found: A Free Magazine & A Flow of Mulling

Magazines are still strong. There is debate on whether ink on paper materials are threatened by the Internet, and you can tell which side I’m on by one look at my apartment.

Toby and I went outside to check the mail. We have mailboxes behind little numbered doors and a key that doesn’t fit very well into its slot. We also have slots for Outgoing Mail in those large, grey boxes. Today, there was a magazine stuffed partway into one of those slots.

A Sports Illustrated, upon further examination. And not stuffed with any sort of enthusiasm. But my first thought was not which magazine, but for what reason–my first thought was that someone didn’t want it anymore and was trying to send it back. But no, the address was thoroughly torn off the front cover.

Maybe that’s the way to send magazines back to the addressee, (I wouldn’t know) but if the subscriber didn’t want it, then I did. So, after we worked on Toby’s walking skills–on grass, in the rental office lobby, on sidewalk– I flipped through the Sports Illustrated. Thoroughly.

The Creative Writing Advisor at Weber State University preaches that if you’re a budding writer wanting to build credentials and get noticed, magazine submissions are the way to do it. Three years later, I think it’s one way, but not the only. He also advises that we read everything we can get our hands on. And that includes sports stuff for a girl who only thinks about sports with her relatives and when regarding her past Learning Experiences.

True to Brad Roghaar’s opinion, I found two articles in this issue that interested me. And then the stray Sports Illustrated found a home on the flat surface of our toilet. Where we keep catalogs, class listings, and our only magazine subscription: Reader’s Digest.

Magazines and books will continue to be printed because they’re still quicker to open and entertain that the Internet. If I want to read a blog or an article online, I have to open my laptop and turn it on. Not regarding the time that takes versus the time it takes to open printed material, babies are attracted to things with buttons on them. And that means very little reading time for me online.

I don’t have instant access on my phone. I’m not opposed to the idea, but I’m also poor. Even though my phone has been due for an upgrade for years, I suspect it’ll still cost me something. And I’d have to pay for internet access for it. Still, it could happen. Meanwhile, I have a baby who wants to eat my electronics, no matter how often he encounters them.

I’m still working on how to handle baby and books, but he can’t reach the back of the toilet. Which is where I reached to pick up the most recent Reader’s Digest. Then sat down to do what I’m the habit of doing: ripping.

Ripping out the advertisements. This magazine’s double-sided ads irk me. This month, there are sixteen pages that can be ripped out without losing any magazine content. Still, the magazine as a whole is something I can pick up quickly during a nap and put out of reach quickly if an inquiring young mind prowls. And I’d say it has improved since its competition, the Internet.

Content is better written and tighter than before. Audiences are better-realized and the content is still more direct than a general Internet something-something. Meanwhile, my mommy angst is taken out on small glossy pages that get thrown into the recycling.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on August 19, 2010, in From Moss-Lined Oregon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

