A Quick One: Collections

A blogger I read regularly asked an interesting question. I like the way my comment to her post turned out, so I thought I’d copy it here.

Her question was: what do you collect? And my answer:

Business cards. And bells. Two very small items, so even if the collection gets huge, it’s still easy to display. I keep my business cards in glass jars, particular jam jars with green lids and a mug handle. The cards are vertically stacked and shown in the jar so you can see all the thin edges. And when someone asks me what souvenir they should get me from their travels, I tell them to get me a bell. I have five bells, all different sizes, colors, textures, and tones.

We have two collections as a family: we get one magnet from each of the states we’ve visited together, and books. We have over 2,000 books; browsing used bookstores is what we do together as a couple.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on January 12, 2010, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

