Another Amazing Sandwich and The Gift Fullfillment

Yesterday, on the last day of the year, I had another amazing sandwich. It featured the last of the dark meat from a Thanksgiving turkey, covered in catsup (not ketchup). With that was a slice of melted colby jack cheese; lastly, ranch dip spread on whole wheat bread that was slightly toasted. A great lunch for the last of those double-oh years.

Last week, I had an interesting Christmas: I had everything I wanted before Christmas even came and didn’t even need what came on Christmas Day. Just’In called me the day before Christmas Eve from work:

“I’d like to a little shopping, and I want to take you and Toby with me. Be ready to go when I come home from work?” So we were, but I went to get the laundry when he got here, and when I walked in, he had Toby in his arms and a book in Toby’s lap.

“Read me this book, mommy?” Just’In squeaks from behind Toby’s back. Inside the hollow book was another hollow book. And inside that is several Best Buy gift cards. Big ones. And some little ones. I looked up to Just’In with curiosity for an explanation. Please.

And we went to Best Buy to buy the camera I’ve vaguely wanted for half the year; it was on sale for that day only, and Just”In called ahead to his buddy to put one on hold. A normal store purchase, and about what you’d expect for Christmas Eve Eve. I walked out into the falling, lamp-lit snow grinning, squeaking AND bouncing.

When we did a gift exchange with my family later that night on webcam, I got a cool pair of grey, striped, sparkly tights. And I didn’t want anything more.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on January 1, 2010, in Culinary Gleams, From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

