A Moment That’s Not Quite A Candle-Warmth

I love this guy I live with. Yes, I’m married to him, and yes, we have the level of commitment that a marriage requires, but I’m just dwelling on the love right now.

I have a song stuck in my head that starts with the line “Your smile lights up a room like a candle in the dark; it warms me through and through.”

That’s close, I’ve decided, but it’s not quite it.

While I’m sitting in the bedroom, reading stuff, I’m feeling impatient for the pizza that we’ve ordered. I’m trying to be comfortable on my chaise, and I’ve just noticed that I’ve had the ceiling light on for awhile. It’s probably the harsh, weak light that comes from there that’s making me irritable; I’m not a fan of one source of lighting that tries too hard to fill up the entire room from overhead. I adjust my sitting position to accommodate the growing weight inside me and the shifting center of gravity.

And then this handsome guy I live with walks in the room. He’s just looking over my shoulder at what I’m reading, and he just has an innocuous comment about something, and he only wants a kiss or two. But suddenly, everything is right and I’m at ease. I can laugh, I forget I’m pregnant and uncomfortable, and I’m enjoying the time I have with my best friend. And my best friend thinks I’m worthwhile to talk to and to be around. I feel confident and that my opinions are valid and worth expressing.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on September 25, 2009, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. This is really sweet. 🙂

  2. This is really sweet. 🙂

  3. This is really sweet. 🙂

  4. He is lucky to have you.

  5. He is lucky to have you.

  6. He is lucky to have you.

Leave a Reply

