A Picture Post: An Accomplishment & Boxes

By today, the last day in August, this is the final portrait of my porch garden:

It was fun trying to see if I have any sort of green thumb. Not only did Snuffy and Murdock thrive in the summer light, but I kept a whole bunch of other plants alive, too. I even grew two from seed: the two in the milk jug on the far left that vaguely look like fruitless tomato plants. The rest of the seeds sprouted in one green mass and even produced two flowers before they died in the hot August heat, but look at all that lived. Most of these were plants I got from funerals this summer, but I kept them alive. There’s an ivy plant from those urns that I successfully transplanted to a milk jug. Aren’t you proud of me?

Unfortunately, I know Utah weather, and I know that the nights get cooler in September. I prefer to give everything but Snuffy and Murdock and that other one in the pot away to people while they’re still alive. Every plant has a chance to live–and who knows? Maybe those unidentified tomato-looking plants are weeds. I certainly don’t have room for more than three plants inside my apartment, even if I did sprout them from seed. Technically, the definition of a weed is something that’s prolific even when it’s not wanted; by that definition, none of these are weeds. I just hope they find homes where they can be given a thriving chance. Besides, that’s all plants want to do: proliferate.

In stark contrast to plants, I’ve got two boxes in my apartment that fascinate me. The first is our microwave box that sits in our spare bathroom right across from the toilet. We’re keeping it because it’ll be the best way to pack the microwave when we move again; it’s also handy as a table for the magazines in that bathroom. Apparantly, boxes need certificates. I think it’s cool.

The second box is a granola box I bought two weeks ago. Your average cereal box from a well-known cereal maker, except for this stamp on the top flap. The question is: are they referring to the cardboard, the stuff inside, or both?

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on August 31, 2009, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

