Thoughts On Cute, Take Two

I enjoy a well-placed compliment. Too often do I hear, “You look cute today!” I thank them for the compliment, as one ought to when given one, whether one likes it or not.

I’ve expounded on my thoughts of the word “cute” before; “Cute” is reserved for babies and little girls, and I rarely dress to look like a little girl. There are items of my wardrobe, mind you, that if worn together, look exactly like something a frilly, sweet little girl would wear, but I don’t wear them together intentionally.

I have come to a conclusion, however, that society is lazy. Well-placed compliments aren’t thought up anymore. We use “cute” nowadays to indicate “I like that” or “you look good today”. It’s just a general phrase that applies to anything that appeals to us as females. Thus, I don’t feel nearly as insulted as I used to.

Besides saying, “You’re always cute when I see you,” which is something I heard recently from a friend, I prefer something more specific:

“You look remarkably put-together.”
“I love that dress. Where’d you get it?”
“Your outfit is well-coordinated today.”
“The look you’ve got going on is really attractive/interesting. Were you going for punk rawk or casual emo?”

This might be hoping for too much, though. I’ll just have to get in the habit of translating “cute” to something else whenever I hear it pointed at my direction.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on August 17, 2009, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. You should be grateful for any compliment you receive.
    It is, after all, a compliment.
    If too many people are saying you look ‘Cute’ and you don’t like it, maybe you should re-think your wardrobe.

    • Heh. Honestly I kind of thought this myself. It seems a little presumptuous to say that you know somebody has chosen the word “cute” only because they are lazy. Words shift in meaning. And a compliment is a compliment.

  2. Although you may not need compliments to boost your self-esteem, maybe a simple ‘thank you’ would appropriate.

  3. You should be grateful for any compliment you receive.
    It is, after all, a compliment.
    If too many people are saying you look ‘Cute’ and you don’t like it, maybe you should re-think your wardrobe.

    • Heh. Honestly I kind of thought this myself. It seems a little presumptuous to say that you know somebody has chosen the word “cute” only because they are lazy. Words shift in meaning. And a compliment is a compliment.

  4. You should be grateful for any compliment you receive.
    It is, after all, a compliment.
    If too many people are saying you look ‘Cute’ and you don’t like it, maybe you should re-think your wardrobe.

    • Heh. Honestly I kind of thought this myself. It seems a little presumptuous to say that you know somebody has chosen the word “cute” only because they are lazy. Words shift in meaning. And a compliment is a compliment.

  5. You should be grateful for any compliment you receive.
    It is, after all, a compliment.
    If too many people are saying you look ‘Cute’ and you don’t like it, maybe you should re-think your wardrobe.

    • Heh. Honestly I kind of thought this myself. It seems a little presumptuous to say that you know somebody has chosen the word “cute” only because they are lazy. Words shift in meaning. And a compliment is a compliment.

  6. You should be grateful for any compliment you receive.
    It is, after all, a compliment.
    If too many people are saying you look ‘Cute’ and you don’t like it, maybe you should re-think your wardrobe.

    • Heh. Honestly I kind of thought this myself. It seems a little presumptuous to say that you know somebody has chosen the word “cute” only because they are lazy. Words shift in meaning. And a compliment is a compliment.

  7. Although you may not need compliments to boost your self-esteem, maybe a simple ‘thank you’ would appropriate.

  8. Although you may not need compliments to boost your self-esteem, maybe a simple ‘thank you’ would appropriate.

  9. Although you may not need compliments to boost your self-esteem, maybe a simple ‘thank you’ would appropriate.

  10. Although you may not need compliments to boost your self-esteem, maybe a simple ‘thank you’ would appropriate.

Leave a Reply

