Quotes From the People Around Me Last Week–

At a fascinating garden lecture by a tree expert who was walking around downtown Salt Lake, pointing out various trees and what their strengths and weaknesses are. From a lady within the crowd:

“Are those the ones I like?”

At a Pioneer Day picnic, from a lady in our congregation:

“You’re just cool.”

She was talking to me, and it made my day. During my teenage years, I strove to be cool, even if it was only within our strange, quirky group of theatre friends and societal misfits. We all know there will come a day when my kids will realize that I am totally not cool; I’m not looking forward to that day.

At a family reunion last weekend, from someone I know only by face and who had commented several times on how cute my belly was. Toward the end of the activities, while we were arranging people so we could take their family pictures:

“The reason I’m so tickled about your pregnant belly is because you make pregnancy look easy; you just glide everywhere. I was out to here when I was pregnant, and I was just miserable. You look like you’re enjoying yourself and having fun. You make it look so effortless.”

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on July 28, 2009, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

