Never Mind The Centuries of Child-Bearing Women Who Have Walked Everywhere

Last Saturday, I worked. When it was slow, my co-worker, let’s call her Helene, asks me, “So, do you walk home after you’re done with work?” An understandable question, as I’m sure it’s odd, for a manager, to stand at the glass-front entrance after checking my bag to make sure I haven’t stolen anything–a standard security measure– and not see me get into a car like all the other employees.

I answered the affirmative, to which she asked, “Where do you live?”

I pointed in the general direction of my apartment complex and told her, “It’s just over there. It’s so close that even if I could drive, I’d probably still walk.”

She shrugged and said, “Actually, I’d probably still drive;” I shrugged back at her, and looked at me like she was concerned for my health, mentally and physically.

Yesterday, I took the bus out to a branch of the dollar store I worked at last year to pick up a over-the-door hook to match one we have already. While I was at it, I walked across the street to a discount store and bought a few button-up maternity shirts. Then, I took the bus back to work to try on a few of our dresses that were on sale.

All my co-workers saw me walk in with purchases in hand, and I told Helene conversationally what errands I’d been on previously. While I was scouring the dress rack, Helene stood nearby, consolidating stock. She said something to me, but I couldn’t hear her. I asked her to repeat it, and she did, at the exact same tone. I moved to a conversational distance and asked her to repeat it once more. She told me something to the extent of, “Because you walk around so much, you’ll deliver two weeks early.”

I just threw up my hands, shrugged at her, and told her, “Well, if I could help it, I would.” Inside, I was flabbergasted.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on July 15, 2009, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Dang, is that why I can’t keep ’em in until their due date? lol

  2. Actually, walking is really really good for your pregnancy. It is one of the best things you can do to prepare for labor. It helps prepare you for a smoother, less painful, and probably quicker labor and delivery. So just don’t listen to people who are dumb.

  3. since when is it bad to walk around? You are perfectly healthy and can walk around all that time, so what’s her deal? *sigh* I’m proud of your independence!

Leave a Reply

