The Oven Now Pops, Mostly During The Evening

Right now, and for the last few days, pregnancy is easier than it has been. It’s almost pleasant because the nausea has mostly gone, except for an occasional outburst from my stomach that is so occasional, I can blame it on the heat, food poisoning, or my eating habits. Those light sensitivity headaches that came from hormone adjustment are gone. I don’t sleep as well at nights as I usually do, but that’s to be expected and is almost welcome; it prepares my mind more gradually for middle-of-the-night feedings that might be inevitable.

No specific food cravings yet; I want fresh fruits and vegetables, but that craving comes with the arrival of every summer, whether I’m pregnant or not. My body has handled it as I hoped it would: a bowling ball in the belly, my stance slightly widened, and a slight increase in acne from what my skin has become after puberty. Other than those, I look perfectly normal from the back, or so my husband tells me. No swelling, no hair loss, no mood swings. I’m not complaining. So far, this is manageable.

Now just watch: tomorrow, something new occurs. Some new hormone will decide to readjust itself. I’m already giving myself enough grief from this new sewing project of mine, but that’s self-inflicted from an attempt at saving money. Changing shape equals new white dress for our monthly excursions to the temple, and I’m too cheap to spend $36 on an already-made dress at the temple clothes store. Good thing the temple is closed for cleaning this month. It means I can take my time at the sleeves, the hem, the shoulders. Altering a dress is harder than it sounds, but I can handle this over the unpleasantries of making a baby that I’ve encountered thus far.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on June 25, 2009, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. That picture is you? Amazing! you look good (even if it is just a belly shot)!!

    I hope nothing happens to take away the “pregnancy isnt so bad” feeling you have now. *hug*

  2. That picture is you? Amazing! you look good (even if it is just a belly shot)!!

    I hope nothing happens to take away the “pregnancy isnt so bad” feeling you have now. *hug*

  3. That picture is you? Amazing! you look good (even if it is just a belly shot)!!

    I hope nothing happens to take away the “pregnancy isnt so bad” feeling you have now. *hug*

  4. That picture is you? Amazing! you look good (even if it is just a belly shot)!!

    I hope nothing happens to take away the “pregnancy isnt so bad” feeling you have now. *hug*

  5. That picture is you? Amazing! you look good (even if it is just a belly shot)!!
    I hope nothing happens to take away the “pregnancy isnt so bad” feeling you have now. *hug*

  6. That picture is you? Amazing! you look good (even if it is just a belly shot)!!
    I hope nothing happens to take away the “pregnancy isnt so bad” feeling you have now. *hug*

  7. You look so adorable.

    You are a lot more ambitious than I am. I can sew a straight line, but there is no way I could do much more than that. Good luck.

  8. You look so adorable.

    You are a lot more ambitious than I am. I can sew a straight line, but there is no way I could do much more than that. Good luck.

  9. You look so adorable.

    You are a lot more ambitious than I am. I can sew a straight line, but there is no way I could do much more than that. Good luck.

  10. You look so adorable.

    You are a lot more ambitious than I am. I can sew a straight line, but there is no way I could do much more than that. Good luck.

  11. You look so adorable.
    You are a lot more ambitious than I am. I can sew a straight line, but there is no way I could do much more than that. Good luck.

  12. You look so adorable.
    You are a lot more ambitious than I am. I can sew a straight line, but there is no way I could do much more than that. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

