The Considerate Responsibility Of A Property Manager

Scott:

I’m writing to you as a concerned citizen who shops and works in the strip mall you manage on (a specific street corner). I walk through your property several times a week, and today, I saw your maintenance guys chopping down trees on the property. They tell me you told them to do it.

When I asked them why, they told me it was probably because the shoppers can’t see the signs in the shopping center. What a stupid reason to cut down trees. Both the planting and the chopping of the trees is your fault, and I’d like a more detailed explanation from you.

Surely you can be more responsible than this. When the property was designed, the trees were planted to beautify the place, and (The National Property Owner) should have thought of the trees “getting in the way” before they approved the landscaping plans.

I’m deeply upset by your carelessness and your irresponsibility in ordering that the trees be cut down. Those trees make the entire complex look beautiful; the stumps will just make it ugly. I realize you probably need to appease store managers and increase the sales of the empty properties on that lot, but the least you could do is have thee trees removed so that there are no unsightly stumps remaining or plant new ones in their place.

Your men took out three trees in front of where (store with very distinctive store fronts) used to be before driving away. This seems like a pointless place to start if you’re just removing trees to increase shop visibility. They also told me that you are planning to cut down the trees further south of where they started.

As a frequenter of your property, I ask that you leave the damage where it has already been done and not do any more. Prune the trees so they grow in the direction you want them to, if you must increase visibility. Plant bushes around the tree stumps so that they aren’t visible.

After my fear of all the trees being chopped down is a fear that you’ll just leave the stumps in plain sight and do no further action to beautify the property. You are the property manager, after all. Be considerate and plant trees elsewhere on the property. If you don’t answer my Email in a prompt manner, I’ve got both of your numbers, cell and office. I want a reason for your actions from you directly; I’ll pester you until I get one.

Sincerely,
Kate

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on June 19, 2009, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

    • Thanks. It’s not very often that I get uppity about a cause.

      I haven’t read a post from you in awhile; how’s the aquarium? And the new living conditions? And your overall mood? I hope for you.

      • Things at the aquarium are good when I’m volunteering, and bearable when I’m working in the giftshop. The house is getting more and more wonderful all the time, especially my garden, which I’m obsessed with. Things with Dev are AMAZING, he’s the best ever. Generally, I’m depressed about my state of employment and my future prospects, but very happy with the day-to-day of life.
        And I love reading about you and your adaptation to the next stage of your life! It seems like everyone around me is having babies, and I love it. Hope you’re well!

  1. Writing out this Email helped vent a lot of this anger. Still, I’m happy to get a quick response:

    Hello Kate. Thank you for your concern. Yes, the tree stumps will be removed. This will be handled by a different work crew. The removed trees will be recylcled as greenwaste and turned into mulch. There are also plans for replacement trees to be planted elsewhere in the center. The upkeep and beautification of the center is important to the owner. As far as pestering me is concerned, you may call me if you wish. Its no bother. Take care Kate and have a great day. Regards,

    Scott

Leave a Reply

