Friendly, Brown Paper As Encouragement

In January or February of this year, while I was still wading in job listings, resumes, and interview opportunities, I was also shopping. Shopping seems to strangely alleviate the stress that comes with job-hunting; perhaps it’s because the two are opposite in nature: job-hunting is all about putting yourself out there and projecting a positive image of yourself, while shopping is about taking everything in, absorbing content and prices and atmosphere, picking up and examining and gazing at everything there is to obtain.

At this point, I was shopping online at Etsy, and I came upon this simple phrase. I was struck by the words, but didn’t like the way it was visually presented. So I made my own, to motivate me through the job search.

I made mine on our newly cleared living room floor, no longer full of packing boxes. I like the texture of brown paper, so I used a grocery bag. I had meant to put more color in it, but couldn’t find exactly what I imagined in my marker supplies and didn’t feel justified or rich enough to go out and buy more. It’s been motivational just as it is.

I got a job two weeks ago. After six months of grueling, I now work at a women’s clothing store within walking distance of my apartment. So far, it’s been pleasant, even though I’ve had to fight with lots of confrontations for a No-Sunday schedule. I have been successful thus far; the poster has helped through the nausea of pregnancy and the minor disappointments in life. It’s been right there, in sight when I wake up and in the corner in my eye as I work on my chaise.

I’m not attached to it anymore because it has done its job; I’m ready to pass it on to someone else who might need encouragement or motivation. Comment here if you’d like it sent to you; I’ll probably ask you to pay for shipping.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on June 12, 2009, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

