A Trickle of Water & The Quicker Bullet

This is the typical Monday that everyone groans about: a habit that needs fixing somehow, an Email that turns the pleasant music in the head to sour and sharp notes, and productivity stuck in the dirt track of the trail, unable to go on because of the dirt beneath the feet.

And as much as I’d love that to be my summary of the day, I know your mind is screaming for further explanation.

The habit is in the shower. In our old apartment, our shower was inside a tub, but the only good thing about it was that I could turn the faucet on to the smallest trickle and let the warmth arrive at its own time without wasting precious resource. Once it came, I used the warmth to soak my face and ward away greasy spots. Then, all I had to do was add cold to hot until the temperature was a little hotter than desired, activate shower, then introduce warmth everywhere.

Here, we have a shower stall. I prefer a shower stall–I have since I was twelve or so–over the wasted space of a tub. I never take baths; plus, I love the idea of a little room that is dedicated to flowing water on steaming skin. My only problem is that smallest trickle of warm for the face.

It seems to take longer for that warmth to come here. I could turn up the water pressure and allow the warmth to come quicker, but I don’t need that pressure for a washcloth and my hands. If I were overly concerned, I might do a water volume test to see which method sends more cold water down the drain before it arrives to warmth, but today, it just adds to the Monday feeling.

That unpleasant Email concerns a dresser that I’ve been eyeing. If I regard myself honestly, I can only say that I was eyeing it for too long. I didn’t think of the possibility that someone else might also be eyeing it as well. A low price, a gorgeous product picture, all on Craigslist… I’ve always gotten what I ask for on Craigslist. This is the first time that someone beat me to it.

Much of it has to do with Saturday. I wanted to make sure that this gorgeous dresser was the best option for the space it’s meant for. So we planned a shopping trip to a few used furniture stores. And as soon as we finished at the last one, before I went into the music store, I made that phone call the claim the Craigslist dresser.

I left a voicemail, then kept my hand on my phone for the rest of the day. And I Emailed her when I got home, just in case the computer was quicker. I wonder who got it and what they looked like. I wonder if they offered a slightly higher price or were so eager to pick it up that they couldn’t wait another day. If they cheered when they put it into place. If they love the size of the drawers and the design of the wood. I wonder if they fingered the handles when they arrived to pick it up and ran their hand along the top, searching for nicks. I wonder if they paid in twenties or fives or quarters.

I hope they stared at the pictures of the dresser as often as I did. They picked up the phone quicker, that is certain. It simply leaves me in a grouch.

The loss of productivity is just subjective. I have a list of daily tasks that is too long. I expect my productivity to end as soon as it turns dark, when it simply needs a change of light source.

I must make sure I am not stuck in front of the computer for the rest of the dark, though it would fit with the tone of a Monday.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on January 12, 2009, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

