Why Do I Think That This Won’t Be The Only Post on Chaises?

I enjoy spreading my feet out and spreading everything I use around me. Thus, for as long as I can remember, I’ve spent the majority of my time on the bed. However, Just’In is sick of me squishing the pillows on our bed. So, when we moved into a new apartment, he suggested getting me a chaise.

I think it’s brilliant. I’ve done some wandering around online and tried to figure out what I like, but there’s a difference between what looks good and what works physically. For years, my favorite armchair to read in had a matching ottoman and armrests on both sides. I remember retreating to the bed because my elbows were sore from being cramped and knocked by the armrests and I kept falling into the gap between the chair and the ottoman. A chaise is perfect for me.

I’ve determined, based on that history and based on the chairs that I sit in currently for computer time, that one armrest might be fine. As long as my elbows have room to spread out. In examining chaise styles, one upholstered wall might be even better; I have often leaned against the wall along my bed to give me a different position while reading.

Yes, I’ve done extensive online searching. I’ve determined that I like the look of curved stuff like this, but I’ve tried out one of those contoured lounges and found that I don’t like them. I have to have somewhere to place a book and curl up into a ball and change positions when reading.

So, because of the physical realization from trying one chaise, I continued that chaise hunt today. In person. I visited two stores, tried out different-shaped chaises, and had casual conversations with salespeople. I discovered lots of things: I want a free-standing chaise, not one that’s part of a sectional couch. I want one that’s relatively narrow so it’ll fit in the space that I want it to, and that means that it can’t have any arms or it probably must be custom-designed. I like this, but I also like this. I don’t want brown. Black might be acceptable and something patterned? Well, I’ll have to see.

I also discovered that Just’In really does have a price range in mind. He balked at some of the other chaises that I just sat on to try to get a feel of what I liked, not in serious consideration. The last place we stopped was the miracle worker. I had looked at armless chaises before online, but they all looked boxy. Well, it must be the camera angle or the color, because I liked this one. This one was an orange-y-brown. Good width, clearance price, and when I got home, I could imagine it in the space.

That’s a good sign. I’ve decided that I’m going to sleep on it and see how I feel in the morning. I was fired up when I could see how it would fit in the place it needs to, and even more so when I realized that because it has no arms, it can fit in at least three places in the room instead of just one. Flexibility in an apartment is a good thing.

I ate dinner and was still psyched. It wasn’t until I started writing this post did I think that perhaps I should shop around some more.

I’ll sleep on it and then go look at it again tomorrow.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on January 1, 2009, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

