Hey, Look: Pointing Fingers To Cool Stuff Again

In an ever-present sweep of blogs, I’ve found several posts I’d like to point you toward. All of these have to do with homosexuals, gay marriage, and the gender issue, so if you don’t like reading about these topics, don’t click.

First, a self-declaration by one of my dear friends. She and I have has several discussions on the topic, and I really like the direction she takes here.

Second, a very long and very skimmable essay by someone named Jane. Don’t be confused; the person who has posted this essay is not the author. It’s fascinating because of its links to history and to economics, which apparently are the influences of a libertarian.

Third, another fascinating discussion brought on by a frank question. She’s an intellectual who posts regularly with a very advanced vocabulary, she works in the field of women’s history, and she usually refers to her significant other as “my partner”. The comments that follow this frank question are just cool.

And finally, an interesting concept.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on November 25, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I’m going through the blogs now, but yes, I love the Kinsey scale, although most people these days who operate under the understanding that sexuality is a continuum use a 1-10 scale most of the time, with 1 being straight and 10 being gay. I think I’m about a 2.5. It just makes more sense to me than black and white categories, because people are complex creatures. For instance, I think women are beautiful, I could look at them all day long, and I tried having a girlfriend and found some aspects of that enjoyable, but at the end of the day it’s the fellas that do it for me. That does not make me 100% bisexual, but I don’t think it leaves me totally straight either.

    I think any measure of categorizing people which relies too heavily on black and white, either/or classifications is suspect.

  2. I’m going through the blogs now, but yes, I love the Kinsey scale, although most people these days who operate under the understanding that sexuality is a continuum use a 1-10 scale most of the time, with 1 being straight and 10 being gay. I think I’m about a 2.5. It just makes more sense to me than black and white categories, because people are complex creatures. For instance, I think women are beautiful, I could look at them all day long, and I tried having a girlfriend and found some aspects of that enjoyable, but at the end of the day it’s the fellas that do it for me. That does not make me 100% bisexual, but I don’t think it leaves me totally straight either.

    I think any measure of categorizing people which relies too heavily on black and white, either/or classifications is suspect.

  3. I’m going through the blogs now, but yes, I love the Kinsey scale, although most people these days who operate under the understanding that sexuality is a continuum use a 1-10 scale most of the time, with 1 being straight and 10 being gay. I think I’m about a 2.5. It just makes more sense to me than black and white categories, because people are complex creatures. For instance, I think women are beautiful, I could look at them all day long, and I tried having a girlfriend and found some aspects of that enjoyable, but at the end of the day it’s the fellas that do it for me. That does not make me 100% bisexual, but I don’t think it leaves me totally straight either.

    I think any measure of categorizing people which relies too heavily on black and white, either/or classifications is suspect.

  4. I’m going through the blogs now, but yes, I love the Kinsey scale, although most people these days who operate under the understanding that sexuality is a continuum use a 1-10 scale most of the time, with 1 being straight and 10 being gay. I think I’m about a 2.5. It just makes more sense to me than black and white categories, because people are complex creatures. For instance, I think women are beautiful, I could look at them all day long, and I tried having a girlfriend and found some aspects of that enjoyable, but at the end of the day it’s the fellas that do it for me. That does not make me 100% bisexual, but I don’t think it leaves me totally straight either.

    I think any measure of categorizing people which relies too heavily on black and white, either/or classifications is suspect.

  5. I’m going through the blogs now, but yes, I love the Kinsey scale, although most people these days who operate under the understanding that sexuality is a continuum use a 1-10 scale most of the time, with 1 being straight and 10 being gay. I think I’m about a 2.5. It just makes more sense to me than black and white categories, because people are complex creatures. For instance, I think women are beautiful, I could look at them all day long, and I tried having a girlfriend and found some aspects of that enjoyable, but at the end of the day it’s the fellas that do it for me. That does not make me 100% bisexual, but I don’t think it leaves me totally straight either.

    I think any measure of categorizing people which relies too heavily on black and white, either/or classifications is suspect.

  6. I’m going through the blogs now, but yes, I love the Kinsey scale, although most people these days who operate under the understanding that sexuality is a continuum use a 1-10 scale most of the time, with 1 being straight and 10 being gay. I think I’m about a 2.5. It just makes more sense to me than black and white categories, because people are complex creatures. For instance, I think women are beautiful, I could look at them all day long, and I tried having a girlfriend and found some aspects of that enjoyable, but at the end of the day it’s the fellas that do it for me. That does not make me 100% bisexual, but I don’t think it leaves me totally straight either.

    I think any measure of categorizing people which relies too heavily on black and white, either/or classifications is suspect.

  7. I’m going through the blogs now, but yes, I love the Kinsey scale, although most people these days who operate under the understanding that sexuality is a continuum use a 1-10 scale most of the time, with 1 being straight and 10 being gay. I think I’m about a 2.5. It just makes more sense to me than black and white categories, because people are complex creatures. For instance, I think women are beautiful, I could look at them all day long, and I tried having a girlfriend and found some aspects of that enjoyable, but at the end of the day it’s the fellas that do it for me. That does not make me 100% bisexual, but I don’t think it leaves me totally straight either.

    I think any measure of categorizing people which relies too heavily on black and white, either/or classifications is suspect.

  8. I’m going through the blogs now, but yes, I love the Kinsey scale, although most people these days who operate under the understanding that sexuality is a continuum use a 1-10 scale most of the time, with 1 being straight and 10 being gay. I think I’m about a 2.5. It just makes more sense to me than black and white categories, because people are complex creatures. For instance, I think women are beautiful, I could look at them all day long, and I tried having a girlfriend and found some aspects of that enjoyable, but at the end of the day it’s the fellas that do it for me. That does not make me 100% bisexual, but I don’t think it leaves me totally straight either.

    I think any measure of categorizing people which relies too heavily on black and white, either/or classifications is suspect.

  9. I’m going through the blogs now, but yes, I love the Kinsey scale, although most people these days who operate under the understanding that sexuality is a continuum use a 1-10 scale most of the time, with 1 being straight and 10 being gay. I think I’m about a 2.5. It just makes more sense to me than black and white categories, because people are complex creatures. For instance, I think women are beautiful, I could look at them all day long, and I tried having a girlfriend and found some aspects of that enjoyable, but at the end of the day it’s the fellas that do it for me. That does not make me 100% bisexual, but I don’t think it leaves me totally straight either.

    I think any measure of categorizing people which relies too heavily on black and white, either/or classifications is suspect.

  10. I’m going through the blogs now, but yes, I love the Kinsey scale, although most people these days who operate under the understanding that sexuality is a continuum use a 1-10 scale most of the time, with 1 being straight and 10 being gay. I think I’m about a 2.5. It just makes more sense to me than black and white categories, because people are complex creatures. For instance, I think women are beautiful, I could look at them all day long, and I tried having a girlfriend and found some aspects of that enjoyable, but at the end of the day it’s the fellas that do it for me. That does not make me 100% bisexual, but I don’t think it leaves me totally straight either.

    I think any measure of categorizing people which relies too heavily on black and white, either/or classifications is suspect.

  11. I’m going through the blogs now, but yes, I love the Kinsey scale, although most people these days who operate under the understanding that sexuality is a continuum use a 1-10 scale most of the time, with 1 being straight and 10 being gay. I think I’m about a 2.5. It just makes more sense to me than black and white categories, because people are complex creatures. For instance, I think women are beautiful, I could look at them all day long, and I tried having a girlfriend and found some aspects of that enjoyable, but at the end of the day it’s the fellas that do it for me. That does not make me 100% bisexual, but I don’t think it leaves me totally straight either.

    I think any measure of categorizing people which relies too heavily on black and white, either/or classifications is suspect.

  12. I’m going through the blogs now, but yes, I love the Kinsey scale, although most people these days who operate under the understanding that sexuality is a continuum use a 1-10 scale most of the time, with 1 being straight and 10 being gay. I think I’m about a 2.5. It just makes more sense to me than black and white categories, because people are complex creatures. For instance, I think women are beautiful, I could look at them all day long, and I tried having a girlfriend and found some aspects of that enjoyable, but at the end of the day it’s the fellas that do it for me. That does not make me 100% bisexual, but I don’t think it leaves me totally straight either.
    I think any measure of categorizing people which relies too heavily on black and white, either/or classifications is suspect.

  13. I’m going through the blogs now, but yes, I love the Kinsey scale, although most people these days who operate under the understanding that sexuality is a continuum use a 1-10 scale most of the time, with 1 being straight and 10 being gay. I think I’m about a 2.5. It just makes more sense to me than black and white categories, because people are complex creatures. For instance, I think women are beautiful, I could look at them all day long, and I tried having a girlfriend and found some aspects of that enjoyable, but at the end of the day it’s the fellas that do it for me. That does not make me 100% bisexual, but I don’t think it leaves me totally straight either.
    I think any measure of categorizing people which relies too heavily on black and white, either/or classifications is suspect.

Leave a Reply

