I Am The Trees’ Advocate–Especially Today

It snowed today. Several inches. A light fall all day, really, but there was already quite a bit of snow everywhere when we woke up this morning. Fall is unpredictable in Utah.

I admire the trees immensely. I often give them human traits and thoughts and voices that they realistically don’t have, but today I admire them purely for the way they’re built. Those branches are taking a tremendous weight. Most of the trees haven’t even started changing colors yet, which means their leaves still have all their water in them. If you’ve cleaned up a yard covered in fallen leaves, you know how much a trash bag full of dry leaves can weigh; imagine how much those leaves weigh with all their water on them.

The branches are built for that weight. Imagine how much snow must weigh; you’ve seen what it does when it falls off roofs and makes unsupported roofs fall. Have you ever heard a tree groan under the weight of the snow? Its bark is pulling apart, even though it has prepped itself for the weight by getting rid of its leaves and by pulling all its moisture inside itself.

Now imagine the strength it would take to hold the leaves and the snow. And then add the wind that was blowing this morning. As the weatherman said on the news yesterday, “Expect fallen branches.”

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on October 12, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I too, love trees. Here in lovely southern California, people seem to thrive on chopping trees back. Trees are either cut down or trimmed to within an inch of their lives. It makes me crazy! Trees are so amazing. They provide oxygen and shade and lovely soothing green, and people treat them abominably.

    Having once lived in the midwest, I remember trees and snow, and you are absolutely right. It is amazing. I remember trees laden with ice, and they were so strong and beautiful.

    I wish more people had more respect and appreciation for trees.

  2. I too, love trees. Here in lovely southern California, people seem to thrive on chopping trees back. Trees are either cut down or trimmed to within an inch of their lives. It makes me crazy! Trees are so amazing. They provide oxygen and shade and lovely soothing green, and people treat them abominably.

    Having once lived in the midwest, I remember trees and snow, and you are absolutely right. It is amazing. I remember trees laden with ice, and they were so strong and beautiful.

    I wish more people had more respect and appreciation for trees.

  3. I too, love trees. Here in lovely southern California, people seem to thrive on chopping trees back. Trees are either cut down or trimmed to within an inch of their lives. It makes me crazy! Trees are so amazing. They provide oxygen and shade and lovely soothing green, and people treat them abominably.

    Having once lived in the midwest, I remember trees and snow, and you are absolutely right. It is amazing. I remember trees laden with ice, and they were so strong and beautiful.

    I wish more people had more respect and appreciation for trees.

  4. I too, love trees. Here in lovely southern California, people seem to thrive on chopping trees back. Trees are either cut down or trimmed to within an inch of their lives. It makes me crazy! Trees are so amazing. They provide oxygen and shade and lovely soothing green, and people treat them abominably.

    Having once lived in the midwest, I remember trees and snow, and you are absolutely right. It is amazing. I remember trees laden with ice, and they were so strong and beautiful.

    I wish more people had more respect and appreciation for trees.

  5. I too, love trees. Here in lovely southern California, people seem to thrive on chopping trees back. Trees are either cut down or trimmed to within an inch of their lives. It makes me crazy! Trees are so amazing. They provide oxygen and shade and lovely soothing green, and people treat them abominably.

    Having once lived in the midwest, I remember trees and snow, and you are absolutely right. It is amazing. I remember trees laden with ice, and they were so strong and beautiful.

    I wish more people had more respect and appreciation for trees.

  6. I too, love trees. Here in lovely southern California, people seem to thrive on chopping trees back. Trees are either cut down or trimmed to within an inch of their lives. It makes me crazy! Trees are so amazing. They provide oxygen and shade and lovely soothing green, and people treat them abominably.

    Having once lived in the midwest, I remember trees and snow, and you are absolutely right. It is amazing. I remember trees laden with ice, and they were so strong and beautiful.

    I wish more people had more respect and appreciation for trees.

  7. I too, love trees. Here in lovely southern California, people seem to thrive on chopping trees back. Trees are either cut down or trimmed to within an inch of their lives. It makes me crazy! Trees are so amazing. They provide oxygen and shade and lovely soothing green, and people treat them abominably.

    Having once lived in the midwest, I remember trees and snow, and you are absolutely right. It is amazing. I remember trees laden with ice, and they were so strong and beautiful.

    I wish more people had more respect and appreciation for trees.

  8. I too, love trees. Here in lovely southern California, people seem to thrive on chopping trees back. Trees are either cut down or trimmed to within an inch of their lives. It makes me crazy! Trees are so amazing. They provide oxygen and shade and lovely soothing green, and people treat them abominably.

    Having once lived in the midwest, I remember trees and snow, and you are absolutely right. It is amazing. I remember trees laden with ice, and they were so strong and beautiful.

    I wish more people had more respect and appreciation for trees.

  9. I too, love trees. Here in lovely southern California, people seem to thrive on chopping trees back. Trees are either cut down or trimmed to within an inch of their lives. It makes me crazy! Trees are so amazing. They provide oxygen and shade and lovely soothing green, and people treat them abominably.

    Having once lived in the midwest, I remember trees and snow, and you are absolutely right. It is amazing. I remember trees laden with ice, and they were so strong and beautiful.

    I wish more people had more respect and appreciation for trees.

  10. I too, love trees. Here in lovely southern California, people seem to thrive on chopping trees back. Trees are either cut down or trimmed to within an inch of their lives. It makes me crazy! Trees are so amazing. They provide oxygen and shade and lovely soothing green, and people treat them abominably.

    Having once lived in the midwest, I remember trees and snow, and you are absolutely right. It is amazing. I remember trees laden with ice, and they were so strong and beautiful.

    I wish more people had more respect and appreciation for trees.

  11. I too, love trees. Here in lovely southern California, people seem to thrive on chopping trees back. Trees are either cut down or trimmed to within an inch of their lives. It makes me crazy! Trees are so amazing. They provide oxygen and shade and lovely soothing green, and people treat them abominably.

    Having once lived in the midwest, I remember trees and snow, and you are absolutely right. It is amazing. I remember trees laden with ice, and they were so strong and beautiful.

    I wish more people had more respect and appreciation for trees.

  12. I too, love trees. Here in lovely southern California, people seem to thrive on chopping trees back. Trees are either cut down or trimmed to within an inch of their lives. It makes me crazy! Trees are so amazing. They provide oxygen and shade and lovely soothing green, and people treat them abominably.
    Having once lived in the midwest, I remember trees and snow, and you are absolutely right. It is amazing. I remember trees laden with ice, and they were so strong and beautiful.
    I wish more people had more respect and appreciation for trees.

  13. I too, love trees. Here in lovely southern California, people seem to thrive on chopping trees back. Trees are either cut down or trimmed to within an inch of their lives. It makes me crazy! Trees are so amazing. They provide oxygen and shade and lovely soothing green, and people treat them abominably.
    Having once lived in the midwest, I remember trees and snow, and you are absolutely right. It is amazing. I remember trees laden with ice, and they were so strong and beautiful.
    I wish more people had more respect and appreciation for trees.

Leave a Reply

