The Awesome Points Issued Today

While reading a mommy blog on my regular List of Internet Things To Regularly Read, I came upon a sentence. This mom is talking about how her daughter is now making her own friends at school.

I cracked up. I walked into the kitchen with my computer and read this sentence to my roommate, who was making a sandwich. And now I read it to you. So you can laugh heartily as well. Are you ready? Here:

No longer do I drive her somewhere, plop her diaper bum down in front of another drooling toddler and say, “Behold. Your new friend.”

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on October 8, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 65 Comments.

  1. how come you refer to your husband as your roomate. YOu have mentioned that you are married, yet you still think of him as a roommate.

    • Well, yeah. I live with him. We share cleaning duties (he’s got the bathroom and the trash, and I’ve got the floors and the kitchen), I ask him to turn down his music sometimes, he asks me to clean out the fridge occasionally; I don’t like it when he drapes his clothes everywhere, but he doesn’t like it when I leave my shoes everywhere.
      A marriage is a combination of a lot of different relationships. A sexual relationship, a roommate relationship, and a friendship. When kids come along, we’ll also be parenting partners. Why do you think this is weird?

      • Heh, the first time I came across it (in a previous entry) I was a little confused and didn’t realize you were talking about Just’In. Yeah, a marriage is all those relationships, but combined into one glorious package. “Roommate” sounds more like “cohabitant” than “husband.”
        Didn’t write the first comment, but thought I’d put in my two cents.
        –Sarah

      • That’s true, but he was playing the roommate role in this story. He was making a sandwich, not kissing me or anything else equally passionate.

Leave a Reply

