My Lover and My Best Friend

I stare at my husband a lot. I also glance and seduce and look coy and just simply look at him in conversation. This is all very good because I’ll be looking at him for a very long time. It’s also very good that I find him handsome and rather striking.

Babies also find him striking. I think they see the heavy contrast between his beard and his skin, between his hairline and his forehead. I don’t blame them. I was admiring him at some point today: he’s got nut brown hair and slightly darker eyebrows. His eyebrows are bushy (but not excessively so– he is well-groomed) and apparently could grow into a unibrow if he let them. His eyelashes are longer than mine and black. They’re gorgeous, and I hope our children inherit them. The black is in direct contrast with his light eyes; sometimes they’re blue and sometimes they’re green. isaidello has eyes like that and I love that characteristic; Just’In’s eyes change depending on what color he’s wearing.

Brown, wavy/curly hair and eyebrows, black lashes, and red goatee. It’s auburn, slightly darker than my own hair. I think it’s reminiscent of his childhood; it grew in red before it got dark. Of course, his hair was also kept longer and in adorable curls when he was young. His dad’s beard was the same color before it turned grey. And all these colors are against a very pale skin like mine. I think it’s our skin tones that make us look like we’re siblings, but we’ve also got a similar facial/head shape.

I’ve heard that you fall in love with people who look similar to you. This flatters me because he’s hot.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on October 5, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

