Memory’s Tool in Self-Validation

I’ve been mentally punching myself over the last few days. My writing’s on the brain, and my first thought to start the entire guilt process was, “When I graduated, I told myself I’d start writing the tree novel and sending short stories and poetry out to get published in magazines. Why haven’t I done any of that?!”

Earlier this week, I stopped beating myself up about the magazine non-progress; we hope to move soon. If I sent stuff out now or even six months ago, our address possibly could change in the next month. I’d hate for stuff to return to the senders, rejection or acceptance, because it didn’t get to me. Plus, that writing will always be there, waiting. None of it is date-dependent, like a news story or a social feature. I could send it out in three years, and it would still be good writing.

Yesterday, I stopped beating myself up about the novel non-progress. I have had progress, it just hasn’t produced a body of writing that one can read in story form. Instead, I have a notebook full of ideas and general world-building progress. I’ve got a tree book that I’m almost finished reading, and it’s the thing that has stimulated all that world-building and plot development.

And just a few minutes ago, I realized that I haven’t been wasting this year at all. I’ve worked, first at Inkley’s, then as a substitute, and now at Family Dollar. I put quite a bit in savings, which has helped us pay doctor’s bills, and without my financial contribution paying for groceries, the Internet and our phones, we’d be pretty miserable by now.

Self-validation is a good thing; all I have to do is remember.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on September 2, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. USPS

    Mail forwarding.

    • Re: USPS

      I know, but what if we move to Salt Lake and then move to Oregon? Sometimes publishers don’t reply for six, nine months or so. What if I’ve moved twice by then? The USPS thing forwards mail from one address to another for up to a year. Will it forward stuff from the first address to the third address? I don’t think I want to put that much trust in a company/government agency that’s slowly deteriorating in quality. The postal workers don’t care as much as they used to, I’ve had one package broken into and one stolen by a neighbor.

      Whose comment is this, anyway?

  2. USPS

    Mail forwarding.

    • Re: USPS

      I know, but what if we move to Salt Lake and then move to Oregon? Sometimes publishers don’t reply for six, nine months or so. What if I’ve moved twice by then? The USPS thing forwards mail from one address to another for up to a year. Will it forward stuff from the first address to the third address? I don’t think I want to put that much trust in a company/government agency that’s slowly deteriorating in quality. The postal workers don’t care as much as they used to, I’ve had one package broken into and one stolen by a neighbor.

      Whose comment is this, anyway?

  3. USPS

    Mail forwarding.

    • Re: USPS

      I know, but what if we move to Salt Lake and then move to Oregon? Sometimes publishers don’t reply for six, nine months or so. What if I’ve moved twice by then? The USPS thing forwards mail from one address to another for up to a year. Will it forward stuff from the first address to the third address? I don’t think I want to put that much trust in a company/government agency that’s slowly deteriorating in quality. The postal workers don’t care as much as they used to, I’ve had one package broken into and one stolen by a neighbor.

      Whose comment is this, anyway?

  4. USPS

    Mail forwarding.

    • Re: USPS

      I know, but what if we move to Salt Lake and then move to Oregon? Sometimes publishers don’t reply for six, nine months or so. What if I’ve moved twice by then? The USPS thing forwards mail from one address to another for up to a year. Will it forward stuff from the first address to the third address? I don’t think I want to put that much trust in a company/government agency that’s slowly deteriorating in quality. The postal workers don’t care as much as they used to, I’ve had one package broken into and one stolen by a neighbor.

      Whose comment is this, anyway?

    • Re: USPS

      I know, but what if we move to Salt Lake and then move to Oregon? Sometimes publishers don’t reply for six, nine months or so. What if I’ve moved twice by then? The USPS thing forwards mail from one address to another for up to a year. Will it forward stuff from the first address to the third address? I don’t think I want to put that much trust in a company/government agency that’s slowly deteriorating in quality. The postal workers don’t care as much as they used to, I’ve had one package broken into and one stolen by a neighbor.

      Whose comment is this, anyway?

  5. USPS

    Mail forwarding.

  6. USPS

    Mail forwarding.

    • Re: USPS

      I know, but what if we move to Salt Lake and then move to Oregon? Sometimes publishers don’t reply for six, nine months or so. What if I’ve moved twice by then? The USPS thing forwards mail from one address to another for up to a year. Will it forward stuff from the first address to the third address? I don’t think I want to put that much trust in a company/government agency that’s slowly deteriorating in quality. The postal workers don’t care as much as they used to, I’ve had one package broken into and one stolen by a neighbor.

      Whose comment is this, anyway?

  7. USPS

    Mail forwarding.

    • Re: USPS

      I know, but what if we move to Salt Lake and then move to Oregon? Sometimes publishers don’t reply for six, nine months or so. What if I’ve moved twice by then? The USPS thing forwards mail from one address to another for up to a year. Will it forward stuff from the first address to the third address? I don’t think I want to put that much trust in a company/government agency that’s slowly deteriorating in quality. The postal workers don’t care as much as they used to, I’ve had one package broken into and one stolen by a neighbor.

      Whose comment is this, anyway?

  8. USPS

    Mail forwarding.

    • Re: USPS

      I know, but what if we move to Salt Lake and then move to Oregon? Sometimes publishers don’t reply for six, nine months or so. What if I’ve moved twice by then? The USPS thing forwards mail from one address to another for up to a year. Will it forward stuff from the first address to the third address? I don’t think I want to put that much trust in a company/government agency that’s slowly deteriorating in quality. The postal workers don’t care as much as they used to, I’ve had one package broken into and one stolen by a neighbor.

      Whose comment is this, anyway?

  9. USPS

    Mail forwarding.

    • Re: USPS

      I know, but what if we move to Salt Lake and then move to Oregon? Sometimes publishers don’t reply for six, nine months or so. What if I’ve moved twice by then? The USPS thing forwards mail from one address to another for up to a year. Will it forward stuff from the first address to the third address? I don’t think I want to put that much trust in a company/government agency that’s slowly deteriorating in quality. The postal workers don’t care as much as they used to, I’ve had one package broken into and one stolen by a neighbor.

      Whose comment is this, anyway?

  10. USPS

    Mail forwarding.

    • Re: USPS

      I know, but what if we move to Salt Lake and then move to Oregon? Sometimes publishers don’t reply for six, nine months or so. What if I’ve moved twice by then? The USPS thing forwards mail from one address to another for up to a year. Will it forward stuff from the first address to the third address? I don’t think I want to put that much trust in a company/government agency that’s slowly deteriorating in quality. The postal workers don’t care as much as they used to, I’ve had one package broken into and one stolen by a neighbor.

      Whose comment is this, anyway?

  11. USPS

    Mail forwarding.

    • Re: USPS

      I know, but what if we move to Salt Lake and then move to Oregon? Sometimes publishers don’t reply for six, nine months or so. What if I’ve moved twice by then? The USPS thing forwards mail from one address to another for up to a year. Will it forward stuff from the first address to the third address? I don’t think I want to put that much trust in a company/government agency that’s slowly deteriorating in quality. The postal workers don’t care as much as they used to, I’ve had one package broken into and one stolen by a neighbor.

      Whose comment is this, anyway?

  12. USPS
    Mail forwarding.

    • Re: USPS
      I know, but what if we move to Salt Lake and then move to Oregon? Sometimes publishers don’t reply for six, nine months or so. What if I’ve moved twice by then? The USPS thing forwards mail from one address to another for up to a year. Will it forward stuff from the first address to the third address? I don’t think I want to put that much trust in a company/government agency that’s slowly deteriorating in quality. The postal workers don’t care as much as they used to, I’ve had one package broken into and one stolen by a neighbor.
      Whose comment is this, anyway?

  13. USPS
    Mail forwarding.

    • Re: USPS
      I know, but what if we move to Salt Lake and then move to Oregon? Sometimes publishers don’t reply for six, nine months or so. What if I’ve moved twice by then? The USPS thing forwards mail from one address to another for up to a year. Will it forward stuff from the first address to the third address? I don’t think I want to put that much trust in a company/government agency that’s slowly deteriorating in quality. The postal workers don’t care as much as they used to, I’ve had one package broken into and one stolen by a neighbor.
      Whose comment is this, anyway?

Leave a Reply

