After The Eagle’s Daughter and Delan The Mislaid: Two Very Different Books

I’ve finished two books in the last three days. I cried during and at the endings of both books.

I’ve always done that. Not with every book I’ve ever read, but I’ve consistently found books that just yank my heartstrings. I remember the first book I ever cried over: The Little Princess. I was a kid, and I couldn’t finish it because I couldn’t see through the tears. I closed the book because I needed to wipe my eyes, and when I realized that I hadn’t marked my place, I was afraid. I hadn’t ever cried over words on a printed page, and I was afraid of the simplicity of them and of my reaction to them. I lost my interest on what would happen next; if I was crying while in the middle of the book, what would happen to me at the end of the book?

I cry because I connect with the events deeply. Or because they remind me of something I’ve gone through. Or because they touch upon my deepest fears that living them through the characters is cathartic and therapeutic. Sometimes I cry simply because it’s a sad ending. Or because it’s an amazingly happy one, like every other girl who cries about chick flicks. I cry during those too, but I also do more than just cry. You know if you’ve watched a movie with me. Comment if you haven’t and are curious.

I still haven’t picked up The Little Princess to this day. I’ve seen one version of the movie and it was amazing, but the book still remains unread.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on August 23, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 52 Comments.

  1. movies

    do you talk to people sitting next to you through the ENTIRE movie?

  2. movies

    do you talk to people sitting next to you through the ENTIRE movie?

  3. movies

    do you talk to people sitting next to you through the ENTIRE movie?

  4. movies

    do you talk to people sitting next to you through the ENTIRE movie?

  5. movies

    do you talk to people sitting next to you through the ENTIRE movie?

  6. movies

    do you talk to people sitting next to you through the ENTIRE movie?

  7. movies

    do you talk to people sitting next to you through the ENTIRE movie?

  8. movies

    do you talk to people sitting next to you through the ENTIRE movie?

  9. movies

    do you talk to people sitting next to you through the ENTIRE movie?

  10. movies

    do you talk to people sitting next to you through the ENTIRE movie?

  11. movies

    do you talk to people sitting next to you through the ENTIRE movie?

  12. movies
    do you talk to people sitting next to you through the ENTIRE movie?

  13. movies
    do you talk to people sitting next to you through the ENTIRE movie?

Leave a Reply

