Michael Phelps Is One Year Younger Than I Am

We’ve been watching a lot of Olympics. Following swimming and gymnastics casually, watching a little of running stuff and boxing. Women’s heavy-heavy weightlifting, handball, a marathon. You know, a little bit of everything.

I was mildly amazed at the newness of women’s weightlifting as an Olympic sport and mildly appalled at how, all the sudden, the gymnasts all look like horses with thick necks and long legs. But not until the last round of women’s badminton that determined who won the bronze did I realize something: all these people competing are around our ages. Just’In and me. He’s 26 and I’m 23. There are seventeen-year olds and thirty-year olds competing as well, but the average Olympian is our age.

That’s crazy. I can see that, as far as the US of A goes, most people reach their peak right after college or during their college sports careers. And I can see that, physically, the twenties could be considered the peak of physical form and performance. I just can’t imagine reaching that state of professionalism this early in life. I just can’t imagine doing something so monumental at this age in my life. Right now, I’m a struggling graduate, just starting to find my place in the world. I’m just developing a major book, we’re just about to start our family, I still dream and scheme about getting published… To win a gold medal now would just blow my mind.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on August 17, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. I think the female gymnasts look healthier now. More like athletes. Before they all looked like they were struggling with eating disorders. You have to be that strong to do that stuff and do it safely.

  2. I think the female gymnasts look healthier now. More like athletes. Before they all looked like they were struggling with eating disorders. You have to be that strong to do that stuff and do it safely.

  3. I think the female gymnasts look healthier now. More like athletes. Before they all looked like they were struggling with eating disorders. You have to be that strong to do that stuff and do it safely.

  4. I think the female gymnasts look healthier now. More like athletes. Before they all looked like they were struggling with eating disorders. You have to be that strong to do that stuff and do it safely.

  5. I think the female gymnasts look healthier now. More like athletes. Before they all looked like they were struggling with eating disorders. You have to be that strong to do that stuff and do it safely.

  6. I think the female gymnasts look healthier now. More like athletes. Before they all looked like they were struggling with eating disorders. You have to be that strong to do that stuff and do it safely.

  7. I think the female gymnasts look healthier now. More like athletes. Before they all looked like they were struggling with eating disorders. You have to be that strong to do that stuff and do it safely.

  8. I think the female gymnasts look healthier now. More like athletes. Before they all looked like they were struggling with eating disorders. You have to be that strong to do that stuff and do it safely.

  9. I think the female gymnasts look healthier now. More like athletes. Before they all looked like they were struggling with eating disorders. You have to be that strong to do that stuff and do it safely.

  10. I think the female gymnasts look healthier now. More like athletes. Before they all looked like they were struggling with eating disorders. You have to be that strong to do that stuff and do it safely.

  11. I think the female gymnasts look healthier now. More like athletes. Before they all looked like they were struggling with eating disorders. You have to be that strong to do that stuff and do it safely.

  12. I think the female gymnasts look healthier now. More like athletes. Before they all looked like they were struggling with eating disorders. You have to be that strong to do that stuff and do it safely.

  13. I think the female gymnasts look healthier now. More like athletes. Before they all looked like they were struggling with eating disorders. You have to be that strong to do that stuff and do it safely.

Leave a Reply

