In Which Our Looks Are Recognized

Yesterday, we took the bus to a steakhouse for our anniversary lunch. A guy got on about halfway through and told us, “Wow! You look like you’re from the 60s. And you’re from the 70s!” It’s true; Just’In was dressed in his red-and-black flame shirt, open hawaiian-shirt style to a black shirt, with his black leather Ivy cap, sunglasses, and almost-matching red cane. This guy placed Just’In as 1968. I had my hair down with a morning glory in my hair. I was wearing jeans, a grey/purpleish-colored shirt, and a black belt– nothing 70s in my clothing, but it was probably the really long, wavy hair, the flower, and my purple sunglasses that swoop upwards on the ends that made him place me in 1972.

He then gave us the entire shpeal of an oldies radio station. It went something like, “KULS: your favorite oldies from the 60s, 70s, and beyond.” He had the radio voice and all the intonations and timing right. Apparantly he either DJs for that station, is a janitor for that station, or just loves listening to it. He then pointed at Just”In and said, “The Who.” Then pointed at me and said, “The Doors.” He did this several times, placing a band of the time period in which we belonged upon each of us, waiting in between for a laugh or a look of recognition. He got those laughs, but when we got off the bus, I said to Just’In, “He would probably be classified as one of the crazies that buses are generally known to have.”

Later at work, I was ringing up the few purchases of a little girl who often comes in. Her mom is always sick, and she lives right around the corner. I think she might have been the same little girl who was eyeing me at our first Pioneer Day celebration. But I could be wrong. She paid in lots of loose change, which isn’t unusual at a dollar store, and as I was counting it out, she told me, “You have pretty nails. They’re real, and they’re not too long.”
I told her, “Thanks. I’ve been growing them out like this since I was in the seventh grade.”
As I hand her a receipt, she tells me, “And your braid is coming undone.”
“That’s okay,” I told her. “My hair’s long enough that the braid will stay in.”

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on August 8, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. T’other way ’round, Kate. I was 1972, and you were 1968. It’s not really that important, but I think it had to do with your long, straight hair and those old-fashioned sunglasses you were wearing.

    I get the impression that guy had some kind of mental… well, I’ll say deficiency instead of handicap. Nice, but a little off.

    • Dang it! And I tried so hard to remember it right.

      Yeah, I got the same impression. But that’s not unusual for people on the bus, and that wasn’t the point of the post.

  2. T’other way ’round, Kate. I was 1972, and you were 1968. It’s not really that important, but I think it had to do with your long, straight hair and those old-fashioned sunglasses you were wearing.

    I get the impression that guy had some kind of mental… well, I’ll say deficiency instead of handicap. Nice, but a little off.

    • Dang it! And I tried so hard to remember it right.

      Yeah, I got the same impression. But that’s not unusual for people on the bus, and that wasn’t the point of the post.

  3. T’other way ’round, Kate. I was 1972, and you were 1968. It’s not really that important, but I think it had to do with your long, straight hair and those old-fashioned sunglasses you were wearing.

    I get the impression that guy had some kind of mental… well, I’ll say deficiency instead of handicap. Nice, but a little off.

    • Dang it! And I tried so hard to remember it right.

      Yeah, I got the same impression. But that’s not unusual for people on the bus, and that wasn’t the point of the post.

  4. T’other way ’round, Kate. I was 1972, and you were 1968. It’s not really that important, but I think it had to do with your long, straight hair and those old-fashioned sunglasses you were wearing.

    I get the impression that guy had some kind of mental… well, I’ll say deficiency instead of handicap. Nice, but a little off.

    • Dang it! And I tried so hard to remember it right.

      Yeah, I got the same impression. But that’s not unusual for people on the bus, and that wasn’t the point of the post.

    • Dang it! And I tried so hard to remember it right.

      Yeah, I got the same impression. But that’s not unusual for people on the bus, and that wasn’t the point of the post.

  5. T’other way ’round, Kate. I was 1972, and you were 1968. It’s not really that important, but I think it had to do with your long, straight hair and those old-fashioned sunglasses you were wearing.

    I get the impression that guy had some kind of mental… well, I’ll say deficiency instead of handicap. Nice, but a little off.

  6. T’other way ’round, Kate. I was 1972, and you were 1968. It’s not really that important, but I think it had to do with your long, straight hair and those old-fashioned sunglasses you were wearing.

    I get the impression that guy had some kind of mental… well, I’ll say deficiency instead of handicap. Nice, but a little off.

    • Dang it! And I tried so hard to remember it right.

      Yeah, I got the same impression. But that’s not unusual for people on the bus, and that wasn’t the point of the post.

  7. T’other way ’round, Kate. I was 1972, and you were 1968. It’s not really that important, but I think it had to do with your long, straight hair and those old-fashioned sunglasses you were wearing.

    I get the impression that guy had some kind of mental… well, I’ll say deficiency instead of handicap. Nice, but a little off.

    • Dang it! And I tried so hard to remember it right.

      Yeah, I got the same impression. But that’s not unusual for people on the bus, and that wasn’t the point of the post.

  8. T’other way ’round, Kate. I was 1972, and you were 1968. It’s not really that important, but I think it had to do with your long, straight hair and those old-fashioned sunglasses you were wearing.

    I get the impression that guy had some kind of mental… well, I’ll say deficiency instead of handicap. Nice, but a little off.

    • Dang it! And I tried so hard to remember it right.

      Yeah, I got the same impression. But that’s not unusual for people on the bus, and that wasn’t the point of the post.

  9. T’other way ’round, Kate. I was 1972, and you were 1968. It’s not really that important, but I think it had to do with your long, straight hair and those old-fashioned sunglasses you were wearing.

    I get the impression that guy had some kind of mental… well, I’ll say deficiency instead of handicap. Nice, but a little off.

    • Dang it! And I tried so hard to remember it right.

      Yeah, I got the same impression. But that’s not unusual for people on the bus, and that wasn’t the point of the post.

  10. T’other way ’round, Kate. I was 1972, and you were 1968. It’s not really that important, but I think it had to do with your long, straight hair and those old-fashioned sunglasses you were wearing.

    I get the impression that guy had some kind of mental… well, I’ll say deficiency instead of handicap. Nice, but a little off.

  11. T’other way ’round, Kate. I was 1972, and you were 1968. It’s not really that important, but I think it had to do with your long, straight hair and those old-fashioned sunglasses you were wearing.

    I get the impression that guy had some kind of mental… well, I’ll say deficiency instead of handicap. Nice, but a little off.

  12. T’other way ’round, Kate. I was 1972, and you were 1968. It’s not really that important, but I think it had to do with your long, straight hair and those old-fashioned sunglasses you were wearing.
    I get the impression that guy had some kind of mental… well, I’ll say deficiency instead of handicap. Nice, but a little off.

  13. T’other way ’round, Kate. I was 1972, and you were 1968. It’s not really that important, but I think it had to do with your long, straight hair and those old-fashioned sunglasses you were wearing.
    I get the impression that guy had some kind of mental… well, I’ll say deficiency instead of handicap. Nice, but a little off.

Leave a Reply

