Sounds and Sights of Quiet

Meanwhile, back at home, I can hear a solitary cricket outside my window. Hearing the sound brings me back to content moments in my childhood. I definitely associate this sound to summer.

Do you remember I was talking about Curtis DJing for us as we drove back to the hotel from Schlitterbahn? I was in the family van. Sophie and Kenny were asleep, and Paul was listening to his own music next to me, emphatically signing out the beats and the tones of each song. As we travelled down the freeway, the streetlights along the road flowed through the van, one at a time, in endless succession. Front to back, then out, front to back, drifting swiftly in and out. Those soft lights, with the quiet dark and the sighs of those asleep, also trigger general childhood memories of summer. Of road trips to Utah to visit family. And there I was, with family again, heading back to Utah that next day.

No wonder Curtis’s songs brought feelings of missing Just’In. He makes me feel like home. And I felt at home on that back seat in the dark.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on August 4, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

