San Antonio Notes: A Waterpark and The Amusement Therein

I moped and cried a little when we first got to Schlitterbahn, partly because I realized that I couldn’t go anywhere until someone got back to be my safety buddy and partly out of missing Just’In (his surgery was that morning and he would have been my buddy all day). Curtis and Paul took off and were each other’s buddy all day, and Sophie came back and found me so I could be Kenny’s buddy on The World’s Best Water Ride: The Master Blaster. We caught my parents when we got off the ride as they were headed to stand in line for the same ride. Here’s their reaction right after:

Ironically enough, I didn’t think it was the World’s Best Ride; my left thigh cramped halfway through, and some tender spot in my right buttock still hurts, four days later. I much preferred the only other official ride we stood in line for: The Dragon’s Revenge. Here’s us right before we got on the ride:

While riding the Line Ride before Dragon’s Revenge, we started several trends. Because we were bored, we played several clapping games like “Down By The Banks” and several chicken games involving slapping the backs of hands or parting two fingers put together. After we were done with each game, we saw other people in line playing the same thing, or some different variation of it.

My parents and I also started a game that involved naming someone we know (as in have met/known personally, not celebrities or children of blogwriters) for every letter of the alphabet. To make it easier for us, we asked others in the line to help out, then we’d ask for their contributions every time the line snaked around and we met up with them again. We met Natalie, Ryan, and his mom that way. And Just’In bugs me for befriending strangers and chatting with random people I meet. Guess where I got the trait from?

We also started the trend of hopping out of line to take a dip in the nearby river ride, then hopping back in. The rest of the day, besides those three hours without a partner in the morning, was spent on two of those river rides. It’s amusing to me to watch the interactions between people: their faces, their exclamations. And as a final amusement, we watched Paul, Curtis and Dad ride one of those bungee-jumping rides. They were hilarious to watch: All three of them were Superman, then doing the breaststroke, and assuming all sorts of funny poses. After they all screamed their heads off, of course. It’s become a tradition in the family; dad did this last with his brother and dad.

All in all, a good day. Curtis DJed for us with his iPod that was hooked into the car speakers. Considering I loved every song he played, I think it’s a good indication of a trip well enjoyed.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on July 28, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

