Yesterday, While In The Midst

My phone is set to a progressive ringtone, and when I’m involved in a successful Spider solitaire game, my phone is making lots of complicated noises by the time I get to it on the third ring.

There’s not a name on the caller ID because it’s not in my phone. I don’t recognize the number.

“Oh, hey. I didn’t wake you, did I?”

(slightly confused but not sloggy or fuzzy) “No.”

“Oh. Darn. Well, this is Holly.” My little sister’s got her own cell and she doesn’t call me very often.

“Hey, HJ. What’s up?”

“I just bet Curtis that you and Just’In wouldn’t be awake right now. That you’d be in bed.”

I glance at the clock. It’s only 10:22. “Uh, no. We usually go to bed around 12:30 or so nowadays. But Just’In was asleep around this time yesterday. What’re you guys doing anyway?”

“Oh, just sitting around the table, talking.”

“And what’d you bet him? Just curious.”

“This rubber band.”

“Is it like a special-shaped rubber band or something?”

“No, I was just playing with it and I bet him. It’s just a normal rubber band.”

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on July 8, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 104 Comments.

  1. That’s kind of rude. Betting that she could wake you up for her own entertainment?

    • Maybe. But she didn’t wake me, and she’s a teenager. Were you as sensitive to other people’s feeling when you were a teen?
      Besides, I wouldn’t have woken to the phone anyway.

      • I was, actually, but I understand that’s not normal, and possibly not healthy. I guess it’s a pet peeve of mine to be woken up for no good reason by someone old enough to know better, because I don’t sleep well as it is.

      • Strangely enough, I was sensitive of it as well. I used it to my advantage; I could explain the intricacies of the relationships my fiends were in because I could see where each person in that relationship was coming from. Most of them didn’t get it until I explained it to them. So most of the time, I don’t expect teenagers to have the depth of feeling you and I do. And Holly is pretty normal. Unlike you and I and our husbands. 😀

  2. That is hilarious lol. Oh teenagers…and crazy bets lol

  3. That is hilarious lol. Oh teenagers…and crazy bets lol

  4. That is hilarious lol. Oh teenagers…and crazy bets lol

  5. That is hilarious lol. Oh teenagers…and crazy bets lol

  6. That is hilarious lol. Oh teenagers…and crazy bets lol

  7. That is hilarious lol. Oh teenagers…and crazy bets lol

  8. That is hilarious lol. Oh teenagers…and crazy bets lol

  9. That is hilarious lol. Oh teenagers…and crazy bets lol

  10. That is hilarious lol. Oh teenagers…and crazy bets lol

  11. That is hilarious lol. Oh teenagers…and crazy bets lol

  12. That is hilarious lol. Oh teenagers…and crazy bets lol

  13. That is hilarious lol. Oh teenagers…and crazy bets lol

  14. That is hilarious lol. Oh teenagers…and crazy bets lol

Leave a Reply

