Beginning of July for Two Adults

Fourth of July is getting really boring. I realize that it’s madamemama‘s favorite holiday (along with Thanksgiving), but maybe it’s because she gets a lot of change in scenery and activity.

My Fourths have all been about fireworks. I’ve seen small fireworks in various people’s yards, streets, and driveways, I’ve gone to city events where, amidst a massive crowd, we play with glow sticks, sparklers, and flags, and then sit and break our necks and our eardrums to watch fireworks.

For the last two years, Just’In and I have played it simple, but it’s still been centered around fireworks. We’ll climb the campus of Weber State (it’s built up the side of a mountain, with lots of stairs) and find a good vantage point in the dark. Last night, we ate burgers and onion rings and watched three different city displays: Farr West (yes, it’s a city), North Ogden (that’s a city too, not just the north part of Ogden), and Riverdale. We made cryptic comments about our love for fireworks and, as we often do, had good conversation while eating a meal that we were both starving for.

And we watched a cricket stare at us while standing in the middle of the sidewalk. I’m sure it wondered what in the world we were doing in his quiet world in the middle of the night. We were enjoying the little things about a holiday: the smell of sulphur to a dormant pyromaniac, the silence of a campus we don’t set foot on anymore, and the musings of two imaginations about possible conversations of a fireworks crew.

We also related memories of the holiday; it turns out I’m not the only one who’s sick of fireworks.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on July 5, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 39 Comments.

  1. You’ll enjoy the fireworks more when you have children to take to them. πŸ™‚

    • I hope so. Cause they’ve gotten really old by now. And they’re never accompanied by, like, barbeques or any kind of food. Oh, except for that one year in Carlsbad… But I didn’t know anyone there, which made it really awkward.

      • oh…yeah, if it’s just fireworks alone I can seee how that would get awfully boring. For me, the 4th is an opportunity to be part of my larger community. Especially the last few years. It’s one of those rare moments when the whole community comes together and feels united in sentiment. I enjoy the feeling part of something lareger-ness of it.

  2. You’ll enjoy the fireworks more when you have children to take to them. πŸ™‚

    • I hope so. Cause they’ve gotten really old by now. And they’re never accompanied by, like, barbeques or any kind of food. Oh, except for that one year in Carlsbad… But I didn’t know anyone there, which made it really awkward.

      • oh…yeah, if it’s just fireworks alone I can seee how that would get awfully boring. For me, the 4th is an opportunity to be part of my larger community. Especially the last few years. It’s one of those rare moments when the whole community comes together and feels united in sentiment. I enjoy the feeling part of something lareger-ness of it.

  3. You’ll enjoy the fireworks more when you have children to take to them. πŸ™‚

    • I hope so. Cause they’ve gotten really old by now. And they’re never accompanied by, like, barbeques or any kind of food. Oh, except for that one year in Carlsbad… But I didn’t know anyone there, which made it really awkward.

      • oh…yeah, if it’s just fireworks alone I can seee how that would get awfully boring. For me, the 4th is an opportunity to be part of my larger community. Especially the last few years. It’s one of those rare moments when the whole community comes together and feels united in sentiment. I enjoy the feeling part of something lareger-ness of it.

  4. You’ll enjoy the fireworks more when you have children to take to them. πŸ™‚

    • I hope so. Cause they’ve gotten really old by now. And they’re never accompanied by, like, barbeques or any kind of food. Oh, except for that one year in Carlsbad… But I didn’t know anyone there, which made it really awkward.

      • oh…yeah, if it’s just fireworks alone I can seee how that would get awfully boring. For me, the 4th is an opportunity to be part of my larger community. Especially the last few years. It’s one of those rare moments when the whole community comes together and feels united in sentiment. I enjoy the feeling part of something lareger-ness of it.

      • oh…yeah, if it’s just fireworks alone I can seee how that would get awfully boring. For me, the 4th is an opportunity to be part of my larger community. Especially the last few years. It’s one of those rare moments when the whole community comes together and feels united in sentiment. I enjoy the feeling part of something lareger-ness of it.

    • I hope so. Cause they’ve gotten really old by now. And they’re never accompanied by, like, barbeques or any kind of food. Oh, except for that one year in Carlsbad… But I didn’t know anyone there, which made it really awkward.

  5. You’ll enjoy the fireworks more when you have children to take to them. πŸ™‚

  6. You’ll enjoy the fireworks more when you have children to take to them. πŸ™‚

    • I hope so. Cause they’ve gotten really old by now. And they’re never accompanied by, like, barbeques or any kind of food. Oh, except for that one year in Carlsbad… But I didn’t know anyone there, which made it really awkward.

      • oh…yeah, if it’s just fireworks alone I can seee how that would get awfully boring. For me, the 4th is an opportunity to be part of my larger community. Especially the last few years. It’s one of those rare moments when the whole community comes together and feels united in sentiment. I enjoy the feeling part of something lareger-ness of it.

  7. You’ll enjoy the fireworks more when you have children to take to them. πŸ™‚

    • I hope so. Cause they’ve gotten really old by now. And they’re never accompanied by, like, barbeques or any kind of food. Oh, except for that one year in Carlsbad… But I didn’t know anyone there, which made it really awkward.

      • oh…yeah, if it’s just fireworks alone I can seee how that would get awfully boring. For me, the 4th is an opportunity to be part of my larger community. Especially the last few years. It’s one of those rare moments when the whole community comes together and feels united in sentiment. I enjoy the feeling part of something lareger-ness of it.

  8. You’ll enjoy the fireworks more when you have children to take to them. πŸ™‚

    • I hope so. Cause they’ve gotten really old by now. And they’re never accompanied by, like, barbeques or any kind of food. Oh, except for that one year in Carlsbad… But I didn’t know anyone there, which made it really awkward.

      • oh…yeah, if it’s just fireworks alone I can seee how that would get awfully boring. For me, the 4th is an opportunity to be part of my larger community. Especially the last few years. It’s one of those rare moments when the whole community comes together and feels united in sentiment. I enjoy the feeling part of something lareger-ness of it.

  9. You’ll enjoy the fireworks more when you have children to take to them. πŸ™‚

    • I hope so. Cause they’ve gotten really old by now. And they’re never accompanied by, like, barbeques or any kind of food. Oh, except for that one year in Carlsbad… But I didn’t know anyone there, which made it really awkward.

      • oh…yeah, if it’s just fireworks alone I can seee how that would get awfully boring. For me, the 4th is an opportunity to be part of my larger community. Especially the last few years. It’s one of those rare moments when the whole community comes together and feels united in sentiment. I enjoy the feeling part of something lareger-ness of it.

  10. You’ll enjoy the fireworks more when you have children to take to them. πŸ™‚

    • I hope so. Cause they’ve gotten really old by now. And they’re never accompanied by, like, barbeques or any kind of food. Oh, except for that one year in Carlsbad… But I didn’t know anyone there, which made it really awkward.

      • oh…yeah, if it’s just fireworks alone I can seee how that would get awfully boring. For me, the 4th is an opportunity to be part of my larger community. Especially the last few years. It’s one of those rare moments when the whole community comes together and feels united in sentiment. I enjoy the feeling part of something lareger-ness of it.

  11. You’ll enjoy the fireworks more when you have children to take to them. πŸ™‚

    • I hope so. Cause they’ve gotten really old by now. And they’re never accompanied by, like, barbeques or any kind of food. Oh, except for that one year in Carlsbad… But I didn’t know anyone there, which made it really awkward.

      • oh…yeah, if it’s just fireworks alone I can seee how that would get awfully boring. For me, the 4th is an opportunity to be part of my larger community. Especially the last few years. It’s one of those rare moments when the whole community comes together and feels united in sentiment. I enjoy the feeling part of something lareger-ness of it.

  12. You’ll enjoy the fireworks more when you have children to take to them. πŸ™‚

    • I hope so. Cause they’ve gotten really old by now. And they’re never accompanied by, like, barbeques or any kind of food. Oh, except for that one year in Carlsbad… But I didn’t know anyone there, which made it really awkward.

      • oh…yeah, if it’s just fireworks alone I can seee how that would get awfully boring. For me, the 4th is an opportunity to be part of my larger community. Especially the last few years. It’s one of those rare moments when the whole community comes together and feels united in sentiment. I enjoy the feeling part of something lareger-ness of it.

  13. You’ll enjoy the fireworks more when you have children to take to them. πŸ™‚

    • I hope so. Cause they’ve gotten really old by now. And they’re never accompanied by, like, barbeques or any kind of food. Oh, except for that one year in Carlsbad… But I didn’t know anyone there, which made it really awkward.

      • oh…yeah, if it’s just fireworks alone I can seee how that would get awfully boring. For me, the 4th is an opportunity to be part of my larger community. Especially the last few years. It’s one of those rare moments when the whole community comes together and feels united in sentiment. I enjoy the feeling part of something lareger-ness of it.

Leave a Reply

