A Minor Conflict Over A Pair of Shoes

I wore jelly shoes a lot when I was a kid until they didn’t sell them in stores anymore. I wore mainly pink, but I’m sure I had other colours. I wore each pair until they were unwearable, then went and bought another pair.

I remember searching for them on the Internet and not finding anything. Not in department stores, not with Google’s product search, not on any shoe sites, nothing. And now that I work at Family Dollar, I’ve noticed that we sell them. In my size and in several colors. I work for the store that sells jelly shoes and I haven’t bought a pair of my own yet.

Here’s the reasoning behind the typically-frugal-Kate approach: We’ll be moving to Oregon soon. It rains a lot in Oregon, doesn’t it? Thus, jelly shoes aren’t very practical in the rain, and I won’t be able to wear them much to allow the purchase to be worth it. Or to be able to break them in. Also, there’s a chance my feet will be changing shape within the next year. I’ve been avoiding the purchase of any new clothes (or garments) because I’m anticipating that change.

Yet I work in a dollar store. It’s not much expense at all to buy a pair of jelly shoes. I’m half-tempted to run and buy a pair right after I post this. Right after I write this sentence.

I’m still sitting here. I’ve been to work once today to get my schedule. I don’t really want to go to work again and have my co-worker scowl at me as I walk in the door. Even if it’s for jellies. And I can’t very well come into work before my shift, take off my shoes and socks, try them on, put my socks back on, buy them (plus chocolate), and then start my shift.

sigh.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on July 5, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. So did you get them??

    I’m still curious whether you bought those jellies! I had a pair of sparkly pink ones when I was little. I remember calling them “princess shoes.” πŸ˜€

    Sarah

    • Re: So did you get them??

      I did. I told myself, “Oh, screw that. I’ve still got the time it takes to pack and move to enjoy them. And they’re only five bucks.” I got clear ones, though they do shine slightly blue. They look like glass slippers. And they fit like I remember; somewhat ethereal (because there are holes everywhere).

  2. So did you get them??

    I’m still curious whether you bought those jellies! I had a pair of sparkly pink ones when I was little. I remember calling them “princess shoes.” πŸ˜€

    Sarah

    • Re: So did you get them??

      I did. I told myself, “Oh, screw that. I’ve still got the time it takes to pack and move to enjoy them. And they’re only five bucks.” I got clear ones, though they do shine slightly blue. They look like glass slippers. And they fit like I remember; somewhat ethereal (because there are holes everywhere).

  3. So did you get them??

    I’m still curious whether you bought those jellies! I had a pair of sparkly pink ones when I was little. I remember calling them “princess shoes.” πŸ˜€

    Sarah

    • Re: So did you get them??

      I did. I told myself, “Oh, screw that. I’ve still got the time it takes to pack and move to enjoy them. And they’re only five bucks.” I got clear ones, though they do shine slightly blue. They look like glass slippers. And they fit like I remember; somewhat ethereal (because there are holes everywhere).

  4. So did you get them??

    I’m still curious whether you bought those jellies! I had a pair of sparkly pink ones when I was little. I remember calling them “princess shoes.” πŸ˜€

    Sarah

    • Re: So did you get them??

      I did. I told myself, “Oh, screw that. I’ve still got the time it takes to pack and move to enjoy them. And they’re only five bucks.” I got clear ones, though they do shine slightly blue. They look like glass slippers. And they fit like I remember; somewhat ethereal (because there are holes everywhere).

    • Re: So did you get them??

      I did. I told myself, “Oh, screw that. I’ve still got the time it takes to pack and move to enjoy them. And they’re only five bucks.” I got clear ones, though they do shine slightly blue. They look like glass slippers. And they fit like I remember; somewhat ethereal (because there are holes everywhere).

  5. So did you get them??

    I’m still curious whether you bought those jellies! I had a pair of sparkly pink ones when I was little. I remember calling them “princess shoes.” πŸ˜€

    Sarah

  6. So did you get them??

    I’m still curious whether you bought those jellies! I had a pair of sparkly pink ones when I was little. I remember calling them “princess shoes.” πŸ˜€

    Sarah

    • Re: So did you get them??

      I did. I told myself, “Oh, screw that. I’ve still got the time it takes to pack and move to enjoy them. And they’re only five bucks.” I got clear ones, though they do shine slightly blue. They look like glass slippers. And they fit like I remember; somewhat ethereal (because there are holes everywhere).

  7. So did you get them??

    I’m still curious whether you bought those jellies! I had a pair of sparkly pink ones when I was little. I remember calling them “princess shoes.” πŸ˜€

    Sarah

    • Re: So did you get them??

      I did. I told myself, “Oh, screw that. I’ve still got the time it takes to pack and move to enjoy them. And they’re only five bucks.” I got clear ones, though they do shine slightly blue. They look like glass slippers. And they fit like I remember; somewhat ethereal (because there are holes everywhere).

  8. So did you get them??

    I’m still curious whether you bought those jellies! I had a pair of sparkly pink ones when I was little. I remember calling them “princess shoes.” πŸ˜€

    Sarah

    • Re: So did you get them??

      I did. I told myself, “Oh, screw that. I’ve still got the time it takes to pack and move to enjoy them. And they’re only five bucks.” I got clear ones, though they do shine slightly blue. They look like glass slippers. And they fit like I remember; somewhat ethereal (because there are holes everywhere).

  9. So did you get them??

    I’m still curious whether you bought those jellies! I had a pair of sparkly pink ones when I was little. I remember calling them “princess shoes.” πŸ˜€

    Sarah

    • Re: So did you get them??

      I did. I told myself, “Oh, screw that. I’ve still got the time it takes to pack and move to enjoy them. And they’re only five bucks.” I got clear ones, though they do shine slightly blue. They look like glass slippers. And they fit like I remember; somewhat ethereal (because there are holes everywhere).

  10. So did you get them??

    I’m still curious whether you bought those jellies! I had a pair of sparkly pink ones when I was little. I remember calling them “princess shoes.” πŸ˜€

    Sarah

    • Re: So did you get them??

      I did. I told myself, “Oh, screw that. I’ve still got the time it takes to pack and move to enjoy them. And they’re only five bucks.” I got clear ones, though they do shine slightly blue. They look like glass slippers. And they fit like I remember; somewhat ethereal (because there are holes everywhere).

  11. So did you get them??

    I’m still curious whether you bought those jellies! I had a pair of sparkly pink ones when I was little. I remember calling them “princess shoes.” πŸ˜€

    Sarah

    • Re: So did you get them??

      I did. I told myself, “Oh, screw that. I’ve still got the time it takes to pack and move to enjoy them. And they’re only five bucks.” I got clear ones, though they do shine slightly blue. They look like glass slippers. And they fit like I remember; somewhat ethereal (because there are holes everywhere).

  12. So did you get them??
    I’m still curious whether you bought those jellies! I had a pair of sparkly pink ones when I was little. I remember calling them “princess shoes.” πŸ˜€
    Sarah

    • Re: So did you get them??
      I did. I told myself, “Oh, screw that. I’ve still got the time it takes to pack and move to enjoy them. And they’re only five bucks.” I got clear ones, though they do shine slightly blue. They look like glass slippers. And they fit like I remember; somewhat ethereal (because there are holes everywhere).

  13. So did you get them??
    I’m still curious whether you bought those jellies! I had a pair of sparkly pink ones when I was little. I remember calling them “princess shoes.” πŸ˜€
    Sarah

    • Re: So did you get them??
      I did. I told myself, “Oh, screw that. I’ve still got the time it takes to pack and move to enjoy them. And they’re only five bucks.” I got clear ones, though they do shine slightly blue. They look like glass slippers. And they fit like I remember; somewhat ethereal (because there are holes everywhere).

Leave a Reply

