Ironically Enough, I Give Nicknames to Everyone Else

I just set up a Facebook account. I’ve been resisting for years, but since Just’In got an LJ because I had one, I figured I’d get a Facebook because he wanted me to get one.

I just did a search within Facebook for more Kates with my last name. There’s one in Atlanta, one in Massachusetts, and one in Seattle who works at a university there. As for the Kates with my married name, there’s two in London, one in Leeds, one in Manchester, one in Raleigh/Durham, NC, and one in New York. There’s one in London, Ontario, and another in Hamilton, Ontario. One in Stamford, CT, one in Vancouver, BC, and another in Atlanta… And the search results go on.

Now the real question is: how many of them are actually real Kates? I suspect the majority of these girls have Kathryn or Catherine or Kathleen on their birth certificates, and Kate is a nickname. I’m cool with that, but sometimes, it makes me feel special to know that my birth certificate says Kate.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on July 1, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. Thats funny..I hate being just plain “beth” and wish it was Elizabeth or Bethany or anything that can be shortened to Beth instead of just the short nick name version.

    • Well, now you’re HayleyBeth. So now it’s not just Beth. I love being Kate and just Kate. It’s part of what makes me feel unique, but it’s not some weird name that no one has ever heard before.

  2. Thats funny..I hate being just plain “beth” and wish it was Elizabeth or Bethany or anything that can be shortened to Beth instead of just the short nick name version.

    • Well, now you’re HayleyBeth. So now it’s not just Beth. I love being Kate and just Kate. It’s part of what makes me feel unique, but it’s not some weird name that no one has ever heard before.

  3. Thats funny..I hate being just plain “beth” and wish it was Elizabeth or Bethany or anything that can be shortened to Beth instead of just the short nick name version.

    • Well, now you’re HayleyBeth. So now it’s not just Beth. I love being Kate and just Kate. It’s part of what makes me feel unique, but it’s not some weird name that no one has ever heard before.

  4. Thats funny..I hate being just plain “beth” and wish it was Elizabeth or Bethany or anything that can be shortened to Beth instead of just the short nick name version.

    • Well, now you’re HayleyBeth. So now it’s not just Beth. I love being Kate and just Kate. It’s part of what makes me feel unique, but it’s not some weird name that no one has ever heard before.

    • Well, now you’re HayleyBeth. So now it’s not just Beth. I love being Kate and just Kate. It’s part of what makes me feel unique, but it’s not some weird name that no one has ever heard before.

  5. Thats funny..I hate being just plain “beth” and wish it was Elizabeth or Bethany or anything that can be shortened to Beth instead of just the short nick name version.

  6. Thats funny..I hate being just plain “beth” and wish it was Elizabeth or Bethany or anything that can be shortened to Beth instead of just the short nick name version.

    • Well, now you’re HayleyBeth. So now it’s not just Beth. I love being Kate and just Kate. It’s part of what makes me feel unique, but it’s not some weird name that no one has ever heard before.

  7. Thats funny..I hate being just plain “beth” and wish it was Elizabeth or Bethany or anything that can be shortened to Beth instead of just the short nick name version.

    • Well, now you’re HayleyBeth. So now it’s not just Beth. I love being Kate and just Kate. It’s part of what makes me feel unique, but it’s not some weird name that no one has ever heard before.

  8. Thats funny..I hate being just plain “beth” and wish it was Elizabeth or Bethany or anything that can be shortened to Beth instead of just the short nick name version.

    • Well, now you’re HayleyBeth. So now it’s not just Beth. I love being Kate and just Kate. It’s part of what makes me feel unique, but it’s not some weird name that no one has ever heard before.

  9. Thats funny..I hate being just plain “beth” and wish it was Elizabeth or Bethany or anything that can be shortened to Beth instead of just the short nick name version.

    • Well, now you’re HayleyBeth. So now it’s not just Beth. I love being Kate and just Kate. It’s part of what makes me feel unique, but it’s not some weird name that no one has ever heard before.

  10. Thats funny..I hate being just plain “beth” and wish it was Elizabeth or Bethany or anything that can be shortened to Beth instead of just the short nick name version.

    • Well, now you’re HayleyBeth. So now it’s not just Beth. I love being Kate and just Kate. It’s part of what makes me feel unique, but it’s not some weird name that no one has ever heard before.

  11. Thats funny..I hate being just plain “beth” and wish it was Elizabeth or Bethany or anything that can be shortened to Beth instead of just the short nick name version.

    • Well, now you’re HayleyBeth. So now it’s not just Beth. I love being Kate and just Kate. It’s part of what makes me feel unique, but it’s not some weird name that no one has ever heard before.

  12. Thats funny..I hate being just plain “beth” and wish it was Elizabeth or Bethany or anything that can be shortened to Beth instead of just the short nick name version.

    • Well, now you’re HayleyBeth. So now it’s not just Beth. I love being Kate and just Kate. It’s part of what makes me feel unique, but it’s not some weird name that no one has ever heard before.

  13. Thats funny..I hate being just plain “beth” and wish it was Elizabeth or Bethany or anything that can be shortened to Beth instead of just the short nick name version.

    • Well, now you’re HayleyBeth. So now it’s not just Beth. I love being Kate and just Kate. It’s part of what makes me feel unique, but it’s not some weird name that no one has ever heard before.

Leave a Reply

