Bright Orange Against Stubbly White Line, or, That Elusive Image

I walked up to the bus stop and, after looking up at the bright sky and down at the ground at the amazingly-green grass, I faced the other side of the road. There, I saw a woman stepping carefully and slowly into the road. One foot in front of the other, into traffic. She looked like she was measuring steps; she had a camera in her hand. By the look of the camera, I guessed that she was taking a photography class. She kept looking up the road in the direction the traffic comes on that side, and stepping back past the solid white line when a car was about to run her over. Then, when another break of traffic came, she looked alternately in a specific direction and down at her feet as they stepped heel-toe-heel-toe out into the road. Her bright orange Crocs weren’t the best balance shoes and her toes kept catching on her heels; I think she was counting steps.

She did this four or five times: waiting for a break in traffic, counting steps into the road, pointing the camera, and then resignedly having to step back to safety without getting where she wanted to be. I don’t know why she didn’t use any of the crosswalks that are along that road; she might have been more successful in getting the steps she wanted. After awhile of trying to step into traffic, she just tried standing along the white line and peering into traffic. This also made me think she was aiming for something specific, some sort of shot that she only saw while driving in that direction. I wondered why she didn’t see me during all this, as she was stepping toward me and I was standing directly across the road from her. But she didn’t ever look up at me. This is what makes me think that this was an assignment for a class; she was awfully concentrated and dedicated. It also made me feel invisible.

She walked back and forth from her car to the road several times during this. Along with her Crocs, she wore cutoff sweats and a sweater. Her hair was cut short; her vehicle was a new silver van. By her appearance, I guessed that she was a mom as well, and that she had a kid in the back seat. I don’t think she took any shots. Most photographers concentrate for awhile through the lens before pushing that button; if she did take pictures, she didn’t take more than a second or two to adjust the view.

Eventually, she looked in the opposite direction, then rushed to her car excitedly and drove off in that direction. I’d like to believe that she thought of another angle, another picture idea further down the hill. I hope she went to find a crosswalk.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on April 3, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

