Check and Miss– Another Failure

It’s still cool enough that I can get my chocolate fix in liquid form.

Still looking for a job. I’ve found that the Family Dollar in my neighborhood is hiring. I shop there frequently, the neighborhood is safe (I had conflicts earlier with a job offer from a seedy location) and the manager and I have a small friendship. It’s been four weeks, and I’m giving myself another week to find one or go work as her cashier/stocker. Simple work, but it’s something I can do and it’s something to do.

Last week, I had another cashier job offer. I would work the front, helping customers find stuff and such, while the rest of the staff handles the truck deliveries. I had gotten approved by the supervisor and corporate when the manager tells me, “Well, I still want you to work for me, but I was thinking about it last night. [Uh-oh.] I remembered that you have to do some training in Salt Lake.”

My first thought? “Training? I can do training. At least he’s bothering to train me right.”

He doubts whether I can get there. Legitimate, considering what I told him when he asked me what location I wanted to work at: “Well, I’m limited by public transportation, so somewhere in Ogden, please.” I take the address of the store in Salt Lake where the training will be held and tell him I’ll look it up and call him back.

When I do so, I ask about more details. “You tell me I need to be in Salt Lake on Tuesday. How many Tuesdays?”

“Well, every Tuesday.” He also tells me it’s from eight to five, this training is. Great.

My mind whirls. This would basically be working Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays. Making a three-hour commute one way every week. It’s at an auto parts place, which means the training would most likely be a paid automotives class. I’m interested in how cars work. If I take this job, I’d have to tell other employers that I can only work Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. And to commute every week?

I don’t think so.

I ask him if he’s got any other applicants. “Nope, I’m all full. I’ve got all the staff I need. I won’t be looking for anyone else. If you change your mind, call me back.”

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on March 24, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

