While Reading My Blogroll, A Sudden Memory:

(Inspired by Notes to Self)

I remember an interview a newspaper writer did of me during high school. For some inexplicable reason, the school sent me to be featured, out of all the seniors of the school. After the photo shoot (I didn’t like the picture that ended up getting published), the interviewer started with a sheet of rather blase questions to get us warmed up in talking about ourselves.

“What do you want to be when you grow up?” “What’s your favorite subject?”

After filling them out, she told me the interview would only last ten or fifteen minutes, and instead, we sat for almost an hour. She found me fascinating, because she kept asking me questions. I still find it puzzling. Am I really that fun to talk to?

She ended up using quite a bit of what I’d written as answers to the blase questions in her article. I find that to be a good sign. I’ve got the laminated newspaper sheet here somewhere.

I think I’ll pick up my Dryad story today. I haven’t touched it all winter.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on March 3, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

