A Case of Object Covetousness

Of course, not having a job means I want stuff that I won’t let myself buy.

I want these and these and other knee-highs; I keep telling myself I need these because my current knee-high socks have holes in them. I have plenty of white socks to sustain me until summer. Including the ones I’m wearing right now, underneath a pair of knee-highs. With a hole in one heel.

Last week, my eternal roommate and I were shopping for a new church belt. His kept un-clasping in the most awkward of places. We went to the mall, and when we had found his belt and some video-game accessory (specifically, a GameCube memory card for his Wii), we had some time before we wanted to redeem our coupon at The Pita Pit. So I suggested we hunt for women’s digital watches that are not sports watches, just to kill time. I knew the market was slim, but The Mall has plenty of watch sources. Only in Dillard’s, our last place to visit and our landmark for our parking spot, did they have what I’ve had my eye on for at least half a year.

I had only been hesitant to buy it because I wasn’t sure how wide the watch was. Dillard’s had it; it fits perfectly to my slim wrist and is as beautiful as I had hoped. But, being the frugal person I am, I told everyone and myself that I would think about it. And not buy it right then. And as soon as we got to The Pita Pit, I had concluded that this makes me drool, but I’m going to wait. Until I have the spending money. Until I get a job. Until I can actually use it.

Just yesterday, I was drooling over these because of a picture that someone else was drooling over, for completely different reasons. Of course, I have an entire folder of fine dishes that I’ve drooled over at one time or another.

And then, just today, my buddy anitavelo told us that she wanted a Chia pet. Dude, now I want one too!

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on March 3, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

