Because Shannon Wants to Learn More About Me…

Each blogger starts with eight random facts/habits about themselves. Bloggers that are tagged need to write on their own blog about their eight things and post these rules.

  • I’m wearing my black criss-cross tights on top of white tights. The criss-cross is a blown-up version of fishnets: bigger spaces, longer and wider strings. And instead of one string as the fishnet part, it’s five. I wore these with my dark red velvet skirt and my white Victorian blouse. The shirt is a classic in my wardrobe; it’s what others quote from Seinfeld (a show I rarely watch) as a “puffy shirt,” I think. The entire effect is topped off with my grey coattails. And I’m cool because I wore this to church.
  • Now that Just’In has decided, after two years of working toward it, that he doesn’t want to be a teacher, I find I have to unravel my mental picture of our future. I have two years of little dreams all built up; some of that is toward children and home and what I’ll do with my time. Some of it is stuff like, “I’ll substitute for his classes when he’s sick and can stay home with the kids.” Some of it’s material: I’ve bought him English-related funny T-shirts to wear on casual Fridays.
  • President Hinckley, the prophet of our church, just died. He was ninety-seven.
  • I’m drinking some really tasty fruit juice right now. It’s called “Ruby Pomegranate Harmony” and I have to admit that one reason I bought it was because it’s in a really cool bottle.
  • I have three paper journals right now, in addition to this one. One is small and is carried with my scriptures and other church materials. It’s for recording specific spiritual insights and personal inspiration I find. The second has become a haven for travel ideas, design/decorating ideas, and general, more private journal entries. It’s sky blue and bound with teal twine. The third is a journal my little brother gave me for Christmas one year. It’s spiral-bound and grey and holds lists and story notes. It’s also the source for jottings of any other projects I might happen upon, like converting Bob and Mary’s slides to DVD. The journal has stickers on the front, which is a first for me.
  • In this apartment, I’ve tried to decorate each room in a color scheme. The bedroom is many shades of green, the living room and the bathroom are blue, the dining area is oranges and browns, and the kitchen is brown and blue. And I have a wall of red stuff. I don’t know whether I like themeing each room. Our next apartment I might try just mixing up everything.
  • I like having my nose poked and petted. I always wished that people would do that to me in the theatre department in high school, and they rarely did. Just’In does it often, and thus I grin often.
  • I have two plants. One is named Snuffy because “Snuffleupuguses can live anywhere,” and one is named Muriel because it sounds like a hardened woman who can survive lots of hardness.

Even though the rules tell me that “{a)t the end of your blog, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names,”  I’m not going to follow all of them.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on January 27, 2008, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

