Is It Cold Outside? It Looks Like It

I’m in full hibernation mode. For the past several years, whenever there’s a school break, I do this. Winter and summer, yes, but in the summer I go on dusk walks to enjoy the waning light; in winter, I’m always inside. The only time I leave the house is when I notice the refrigerator is getting empty, when I realize the mailbox could be full, or when I’m in between books and I find an innocuous errand important enough to call me out into the cold.

Otherwise, I spend the majority of my time underneath the covers, reading a book. I devour books during school breaks; they stack up their unread pages during school and haunt me while I read textbooks. I usually take a shower in the early afternoon and only after that do I put my ears in and enter the hearing world. And after I’m done cleaning myself, I go back to reading.

Some of the reading takes place online. My husband gets his share of hugs and kisses as he does whatever he wants to do. He’s the only real variation to this hibernation of mine. I join him to spectate as he plays video games. I’ll occasionally make a meal, though our kitchen is packed with holiday snacks and goodies that I don’t have to. Most of the time, I’ve hollowed out a space under the covers and among the pillows, and I read.

This feels like the last winter I’ll be hibernating. I start work again in a few weeks, and when work is done, we’ll move. Somehow, not quite explainable, I doubt next winter will leave me time to hibernate.

Thus, I started another book this morning.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on December 29, 2007, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

