The Nasal Cavity’s Irritation

For some unexplicable reason, I have a scab inside my left nostril. I don’t ever remember it ever bleeding, that nostril, though there was a sore there a few days ago. Since when does a sore turn directly into a scab?

Whatever’s going on, I’ve caught myself with my finger in my nose several times in the last two days. And once I catch myself, my fingers try to find some socially acceptable way to niggle the scab without looking too conspicuous. Right now, I have my elbow on the desk, my chin in my palm, and the tip of my ring finger up my nose.

And to think I wanted the sore gone so I could take decent graduation pictures; it extends to the bridge in between my nostrils and makes me look like a Star Trek character. I fought the picking-nose-in-public instinct for so long, too.

Now, I’m constantly wrinkling my nose because the scar feels weird.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on November 29, 2007, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. Maybe you accidentally clawed your face in your sleep.

  2. Maybe you accidentally clawed your face in your sleep.

  3. Maybe you accidentally clawed your face in your sleep.

  4. Maybe you accidentally clawed your face in your sleep.

  5. Maybe you accidentally clawed your face in your sleep.

  6. Maybe you accidentally clawed your face in your sleep.

  7. Maybe you accidentally clawed your face in your sleep.

  8. Maybe you accidentally clawed your face in your sleep.

  9. Maybe you accidentally clawed your face in your sleep.

  10. Maybe you accidentally clawed your face in your sleep.

  11. Maybe you accidentally clawed your face in your sleep.

  12. Maybe you accidentally clawed your face in your sleep.

  13. Maybe you accidentally clawed your face in your sleep.

Leave a Reply

