A Common Question I Ask Exhausted Strangers: Are You Dead Yet?

For our Thanksgiving, I successfully made Duck a L’Orange. I’m sick of turkey, so maybe I’ll make duck for the next few years. Then maybe I’ll make lamb. Or goose, to stick with the bird theme.

I discovered from a designer with excellent color taste that “it takes 35,000 grains of rice to feed one person”. From the FreeRice.com totals and help from a calculator, FreeRice has fed 1,009,116 people. Just by vocabulary. I’m even more impressed.

I Googled my name on Halloween, just out of boredom at work. I found two people. The first shares my married name; she’s a marathon runner. She ran the Female 25-29 race at one point, and she lives in Horsham, PA. The second, who shares my maiden name, is a director of a Simon and Garfunkel movie.

I like Simon and Garfunkel, and strangely enough, I fell in love with each artist individually before I heard any of the music they did together. Art has an awesome lullaby CD that my dad owns and that I memorized. I’d like my own copy of it eventually. Paul Simon is one of Dad’s favorites, and I have fond memories of dancing to “Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes” and several other songs. If they ever put that tape onto a CD, I’d like that too.

In life news, I’m working on three different projects for the three different classes I’m taking. I haven’t ordered graduation announcements yet. I got that job; I start at the beginning of the year. I’m holding my breath because it feels like all these life-transitions could fall apart with one phone call, with one word from someone.
“You can’t graduate. You need this.”
“I don’t want you to work for me after all.”
“You’re pregnant.”

Realistically, these would all be setbacks. But that’s what I expect. I’ve gone through enough crap now that graduation feels well-earned, but all the rest?

I fear. Can you tell?

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on November 24, 2007, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

