Torture and Beheading

I had disturbing dreams last night, and unfortunately, I remember them.

I was a boy in the bathtub with another man who was in his thirties. It was dark inside the shower and there was no water on. It was extremely filthy with visible dirt in the bathtub and on each of us. The walls were something like chain-link or black bars, only shady and shifty so they looked like the shadows of a forest. We were both stark naked and being slightly sexual, but it’s strange to watch an extremely malnourished man who is starving have an orgasm. I as a boy was both his prisoner and his companion.

It turns out he was royalty and I was a servant in the royal house. A mere courier, and sent before the king as he ate his meal with his family. This court was very Oriental: everyone sat on pillows and there were lots of bright colors accenting white silks. As I walked into the room, the king stood up and very calmly called me a traitor and a monster as he pulled out his sword. As I continued to walk toward him, protesting his claims because I was only ordered to do that which detested him, he declared I ought to be beheaded, and did the deed right then and there.

As I laid there propped against a pillow I had fallen on, I realized that my head was still intact and I was dreaming because there was no pain. The women were nonplussed and the children there kept playing and didn’t even turn their heads. The king realized that my head was still intact too, but he didn’t seem to care much. Instead, he called the children over and gave one of them his sword.

“Finish beheading this man, if you want.”

They were delighted. Each of them took turns hacking at my head with an oversized sword, laughing and joking about the whole ordeal until my head was severed and I woke up.

I laid there for awhile in bed, hoping that if the time lapsed, I could go back to sleep and my subconscious would reset itself. I guess I didn’t wait long enough. I was the boy again, only I was in an anime world. My friends and I were gathered in a courtyard. We had just finished some kind of activity together; a movie, a play, an amusement park… We were going to go do something else like get food, but I excused myself and walked off. I had other things to do: I needed to go torture this guy in a bathtub.

I kept waking up periodically and wishing my alarm clock would ring so I could get up. When my alarm did ring, I realized I had set it for when I needed to be at work, not some time before.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on October 26, 2007, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

