Application At A Counter

Just’In told me of a job opportunity that sounds appealing. I’m not particularly looking for a job, but I wouldn’t mind a new one. This one is getting old; plus, I want more hours now and many more at the beginning of the year. So I called the place and inquired about the details. Sure enough, I might fit into their schedule, so I followed the protocol of Applicants In The Job Field: I went and got an application.

Just’In dropped me off as it was close to his workplace. I walked up to the door and I saw a Closed sign hanging there. Taken aback, my mind spun. I didn’t ask for their hours; I guess they could be closed. I tried one of the two double doors and it was locked, so, by instinct, I turned to catch Just’In before he drove off. I caught his eye with my raised arm, but he just waved back and drove off.

Then the door opened behind me and the sign said Open. The manager was a familiar face; he’s a friend of Just’In’s and I had met him before.

“The sign flips over a lot. We’re really open.”

I bounced in and examined the sign from the inside. There was a clip attached to a suction cup that was supposed to hold the sign onto the window. The sign had come unattached, and I could see it could be because the suction cup was a little too low. I reattached the clip to the sign and turned around.

The manager was standing there, waiting for me, holding an application in the air. Behind him was the store counter, and at it was a guy and three girls, each one behind the other. Each leaning slightly further over the counter so they had an overlapping effect like a paper fan. Each staring at me, curiously. I strode across the room to snatch the application. As I did, the manager said, “This applcation’s really long, so you can take it home and fill it out and then bring it back.”

I thought, “I wonder if he’s told them about me, what little he knows. I wonder if he recognized our bright green car. Or they could just be really slow and in need of excitement. Or they could be in anticipation because they really need someone.”

I told him, “Yeah, I’ve filled out this application before.”
He turns back to the counter, but responds. “Oh?”
“Yeah, for another location.” I can feel the disgusted look on my face. It’s probably just the theatrics in me coming out because the application isn’t really that bad.

I turned around and walked out. I was task-oriented here. I hunted for an intersection so I oould cross the busy street. As I did, I wondered why I didn’t stop and chat. I knew the guy already. Building the rapport with a potential interviewer is a crucial detail to getting the job. Chatting is important; it shows you’ve got good customer skills, good detail orientation. But to do it in front of a crowd of strangers in a slow store who are getting paid to figure out if they want me as a co-worker?

Looks like my feet did the answering here. They knew where to go. I just hope they don’t mar my chances.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on October 20, 2007, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. In my own defense, I didn’t really drive off. I did see you wave, but I couldn’t wave back and pay attention to dodging the parking lot traffic at the same time. I went to pull into the nearest parking space to see what you needed, but you had gone inside by then. No big deal.

    (aside) Y’know, there was a remarkable amount of traffic for a parking lot that small…

  2. In my own defense, I didn’t really drive off. I did see you wave, but I couldn’t wave back and pay attention to dodging the parking lot traffic at the same time. I went to pull into the nearest parking space to see what you needed, but you had gone inside by then. No big deal.

    (aside) Y’know, there was a remarkable amount of traffic for a parking lot that small…

  3. In my own defense, I didn’t really drive off. I did see you wave, but I couldn’t wave back and pay attention to dodging the parking lot traffic at the same time. I went to pull into the nearest parking space to see what you needed, but you had gone inside by then. No big deal.

    (aside) Y’know, there was a remarkable amount of traffic for a parking lot that small…

  4. In my own defense, I didn’t really drive off. I did see you wave, but I couldn’t wave back and pay attention to dodging the parking lot traffic at the same time. I went to pull into the nearest parking space to see what you needed, but you had gone inside by then. No big deal.

    (aside) Y’know, there was a remarkable amount of traffic for a parking lot that small…

  5. In my own defense, I didn’t really drive off. I did see you wave, but I couldn’t wave back and pay attention to dodging the parking lot traffic at the same time. I went to pull into the nearest parking space to see what you needed, but you had gone inside by then. No big deal.

    (aside) Y’know, there was a remarkable amount of traffic for a parking lot that small…

  6. In my own defense, I didn’t really drive off. I did see you wave, but I couldn’t wave back and pay attention to dodging the parking lot traffic at the same time. I went to pull into the nearest parking space to see what you needed, but you had gone inside by then. No big deal.

    (aside) Y’know, there was a remarkable amount of traffic for a parking lot that small…

  7. In my own defense, I didn’t really drive off. I did see you wave, but I couldn’t wave back and pay attention to dodging the parking lot traffic at the same time. I went to pull into the nearest parking space to see what you needed, but you had gone inside by then. No big deal.

    (aside) Y’know, there was a remarkable amount of traffic for a parking lot that small…

  8. In my own defense, I didn’t really drive off. I did see you wave, but I couldn’t wave back and pay attention to dodging the parking lot traffic at the same time. I went to pull into the nearest parking space to see what you needed, but you had gone inside by then. No big deal.

    (aside) Y’know, there was a remarkable amount of traffic for a parking lot that small…

  9. In my own defense, I didn’t really drive off. I did see you wave, but I couldn’t wave back and pay attention to dodging the parking lot traffic at the same time. I went to pull into the nearest parking space to see what you needed, but you had gone inside by then. No big deal.

    (aside) Y’know, there was a remarkable amount of traffic for a parking lot that small…

  10. In my own defense, I didn’t really drive off. I did see you wave, but I couldn’t wave back and pay attention to dodging the parking lot traffic at the same time. I went to pull into the nearest parking space to see what you needed, but you had gone inside by then. No big deal.

    (aside) Y’know, there was a remarkable amount of traffic for a parking lot that small…

  11. In my own defense, I didn’t really drive off. I did see you wave, but I couldn’t wave back and pay attention to dodging the parking lot traffic at the same time. I went to pull into the nearest parking space to see what you needed, but you had gone inside by then. No big deal.

    (aside) Y’know, there was a remarkable amount of traffic for a parking lot that small…

  12. In my own defense, I didn’t really drive off. I did see you wave, but I couldn’t wave back and pay attention to dodging the parking lot traffic at the same time. I went to pull into the nearest parking space to see what you needed, but you had gone inside by then. No big deal.
    (aside) Y’know, there was a remarkable amount of traffic for a parking lot that small…

  13. In my own defense, I didn’t really drive off. I did see you wave, but I couldn’t wave back and pay attention to dodging the parking lot traffic at the same time. I went to pull into the nearest parking space to see what you needed, but you had gone inside by then. No big deal.
    (aside) Y’know, there was a remarkable amount of traffic for a parking lot that small…

Leave a Reply

