And I Wore My Technicolored Coat To Visually Celebrate The Day

What a bizarre birthday. I’ve done plenty of celebration and had plenty of gifts, but besides all the congratulations from friends and family, it all happened on every day BUT my birthday.

Here, let me illustrate. Just’In and I decided, when the beginning of September rolled around, that we’d be too entangled in work and school and homework when my birthday actually rolled around to be able to do anything for celebration, so we did it Labor Day weekend instead. Dinner, a movie, and going to get books. (I mention it here and J mentions it here) Enjoyable, yet relatively cheap as we used coupons for food and entertainment and the books were from Freecycle. I decided to open my gifts the evening before my birthday because I knew the next time I’d see my roommate would be late the next night.

On the twenty-seventh, I went to class, and worked all the rest of the day as I normally do on Thursdays. At work, I discovered a small birthday present at The Great Whatsit [In the comments]; and I got great weather, even though I was imside for most of the day, working. I knew I’d be unavailable to answer my phone, so I left it home. I had seven messages waiting for me. Four were songs, and one was a greeting from isaidello, who I haven’t talked to in months, so Just’In came home from work bearing pies and found me deep in scintillating conversation.

The pies looked delicious, but were frozen. We decided to bake them the day after my birthday instead. And we did. I called my mom the day after to thank her for the book I’d unwrapped from its mailing envelope. She said something that made me respond, “What flowers?” And now, after a lot of trouble regarding two different neighbors, a stupid delivery boy, and a red box, I have two sets of flowers blossoming brightly in my kitchen. Pipe up if you want to hear that story. It deserves its own entry to be unfolded fully.

In sum, the birthday gifts received on my birthday were immaterial and yet still brought smiles to my face. Thank you. What a lovely year to exist.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on September 29, 2007, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. Piping up
    Okay, so I gotta know the story about the neighbors, delivery boy, and red box. 🙂 Ka-ate, write me a story!
    -Sarah

Leave a Reply

