Extreme Overlaps and The Weather

There were two women chattering away on the bus when I got on to get to work. They were chattering away loudly, and I couldn’t figure out whether they were talking at each other or on cell phones. Their voices overlapped; one would say something, and then the other would pick up with something else while the first continued with the last half of her thought, full blast. It was like they were singing two different parts of a round, at each other. Theirs were the only voices on the bus, and they went on for so long, I could only assume they WERE talking at each other.

I commented quietly to a man who was also sitting quietly at the front of the bus: “Man. They’re loud.” He smiled, chuckled a bit, and nodded. I know that women are known to do this often, but this is the most extreme case I’ve ever heard. Sometimes I’ll start verbalizing a response a few words before the person I’m conversing with has finished, but in this case, every comment overlapped each other by at least half a minute. Bah!

The only other significant, independent thought I’ve had today: My only hope for my birthday tomorrow is that the weather is warm and sunny. I don’t particularly care about presents, though I’m mildly curious, and I don’t expect work or classes to be any different than they normally are, but I just want pleasant weather.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on September 26, 2007, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 65 Comments.

  1. You say it’s your birthday
    It’s not my birthday too — but happy birthday to you!
    It was great seeing you over Labor Day weekend. Hope we get to see Justin next time.
    Adriana

Leave a Reply

