Beauty and Sarah

I enjoyed this; more the first half before the writer gets too engulfed in “look at my travel pictures”. This essay on beauty made me think of my favorite book, which I re-read for the year this month, and then went to a book club with a bunch of other girls who also loved it.

It’s still as good as it was five or six years ago when my best friend, Sarah, came to church and told me, “We’re going on a trip to the bookstore; you have to buy this book. My family and I think it’s totally you.” The bookstore trip was enjoyable; I did buy the book when she led me straight to it, if not a little hesitantly. I’m proud to say I have pleasant memories of Sarah and her impeccable doodles in church, her poems during lessons, and our serious discussions about boys. I’m happy to say she isn’t lost in the crowd of friends I’ve made and forgotten. She’s one of those silent lurkers of this journal. It feels right, considering she’s read so many of my journal entries of the past. I would come to church and hand her my journal, open to a specific entry, and tell her to read during the meeting. She did; she made her own notes in it as well, comments on what had just happened to me. Her handwriting is beloved.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on July 28, 2007, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. Of course, I have to comment on this one

    Thanks for this entry, Kate! I’m glad we have shared happy memories. I just got back from a camping trip and remembered one time at girl’s camp where we practiced particularly dramatic death scenes in our tent. Remember that? My favorite part of being your friend has always been making you laugh.

    I TOLD you that Stargirl was you all over!

    Sarah

    • Of course. That was one reason for mentioning you…

      You’re quite welcome, Sarah. I miss you. You still pop up in my thoughts occasionally.

      Of course I remember that. Thank you for the laughs.

  2. Of course, I have to comment on this one

    Thanks for this entry, Kate! I’m glad we have shared happy memories. I just got back from a camping trip and remembered one time at girl’s camp where we practiced particularly dramatic death scenes in our tent. Remember that? My favorite part of being your friend has always been making you laugh.

    I TOLD you that Stargirl was you all over!

    Sarah

    • Of course. That was one reason for mentioning you…

      You’re quite welcome, Sarah. I miss you. You still pop up in my thoughts occasionally.

      Of course I remember that. Thank you for the laughs.

  3. Of course, I have to comment on this one

    Thanks for this entry, Kate! I’m glad we have shared happy memories. I just got back from a camping trip and remembered one time at girl’s camp where we practiced particularly dramatic death scenes in our tent. Remember that? My favorite part of being your friend has always been making you laugh.

    I TOLD you that Stargirl was you all over!

    Sarah

    • Of course. That was one reason for mentioning you…

      You’re quite welcome, Sarah. I miss you. You still pop up in my thoughts occasionally.

      Of course I remember that. Thank you for the laughs.

  4. Of course, I have to comment on this one

    Thanks for this entry, Kate! I’m glad we have shared happy memories. I just got back from a camping trip and remembered one time at girl’s camp where we practiced particularly dramatic death scenes in our tent. Remember that? My favorite part of being your friend has always been making you laugh.

    I TOLD you that Stargirl was you all over!

    Sarah

    • Of course. That was one reason for mentioning you…

      You’re quite welcome, Sarah. I miss you. You still pop up in my thoughts occasionally.

      Of course I remember that. Thank you for the laughs.

    • Of course. That was one reason for mentioning you…

      You’re quite welcome, Sarah. I miss you. You still pop up in my thoughts occasionally.

      Of course I remember that. Thank you for the laughs.

  5. Of course, I have to comment on this one

    Thanks for this entry, Kate! I’m glad we have shared happy memories. I just got back from a camping trip and remembered one time at girl’s camp where we practiced particularly dramatic death scenes in our tent. Remember that? My favorite part of being your friend has always been making you laugh.

    I TOLD you that Stargirl was you all over!

    Sarah

  6. Of course, I have to comment on this one

    Thanks for this entry, Kate! I’m glad we have shared happy memories. I just got back from a camping trip and remembered one time at girl’s camp where we practiced particularly dramatic death scenes in our tent. Remember that? My favorite part of being your friend has always been making you laugh.

    I TOLD you that Stargirl was you all over!

    Sarah

    • Of course. That was one reason for mentioning you…

      You’re quite welcome, Sarah. I miss you. You still pop up in my thoughts occasionally.

      Of course I remember that. Thank you for the laughs.

  7. Of course, I have to comment on this one

    Thanks for this entry, Kate! I’m glad we have shared happy memories. I just got back from a camping trip and remembered one time at girl’s camp where we practiced particularly dramatic death scenes in our tent. Remember that? My favorite part of being your friend has always been making you laugh.

    I TOLD you that Stargirl was you all over!

    Sarah

    • Of course. That was one reason for mentioning you…

      You’re quite welcome, Sarah. I miss you. You still pop up in my thoughts occasionally.

      Of course I remember that. Thank you for the laughs.

  8. Of course, I have to comment on this one

    Thanks for this entry, Kate! I’m glad we have shared happy memories. I just got back from a camping trip and remembered one time at girl’s camp where we practiced particularly dramatic death scenes in our tent. Remember that? My favorite part of being your friend has always been making you laugh.

    I TOLD you that Stargirl was you all over!

    Sarah

    • Of course. That was one reason for mentioning you…

      You’re quite welcome, Sarah. I miss you. You still pop up in my thoughts occasionally.

      Of course I remember that. Thank you for the laughs.

  9. Of course, I have to comment on this one

    Thanks for this entry, Kate! I’m glad we have shared happy memories. I just got back from a camping trip and remembered one time at girl’s camp where we practiced particularly dramatic death scenes in our tent. Remember that? My favorite part of being your friend has always been making you laugh.

    I TOLD you that Stargirl was you all over!

    Sarah

    • Of course. That was one reason for mentioning you…

      You’re quite welcome, Sarah. I miss you. You still pop up in my thoughts occasionally.

      Of course I remember that. Thank you for the laughs.

  10. Of course, I have to comment on this one

    Thanks for this entry, Kate! I’m glad we have shared happy memories. I just got back from a camping trip and remembered one time at girl’s camp where we practiced particularly dramatic death scenes in our tent. Remember that? My favorite part of being your friend has always been making you laugh.

    I TOLD you that Stargirl was you all over!

    Sarah

    • Of course. That was one reason for mentioning you…

      You’re quite welcome, Sarah. I miss you. You still pop up in my thoughts occasionally.

      Of course I remember that. Thank you for the laughs.

  11. Of course, I have to comment on this one

    Thanks for this entry, Kate! I’m glad we have shared happy memories. I just got back from a camping trip and remembered one time at girl’s camp where we practiced particularly dramatic death scenes in our tent. Remember that? My favorite part of being your friend has always been making you laugh.

    I TOLD you that Stargirl was you all over!

    Sarah

    • Of course. That was one reason for mentioning you…

      You’re quite welcome, Sarah. I miss you. You still pop up in my thoughts occasionally.

      Of course I remember that. Thank you for the laughs.

  12. Of course, I have to comment on this one
    Thanks for this entry, Kate! I’m glad we have shared happy memories. I just got back from a camping trip and remembered one time at girl’s camp where we practiced particularly dramatic death scenes in our tent. Remember that? My favorite part of being your friend has always been making you laugh.
    I TOLD you that Stargirl was you all over!
    Sarah

    • Of course. That was one reason for mentioning you…
      You’re quite welcome, Sarah. I miss you. You still pop up in my thoughts occasionally.
      Of course I remember that. Thank you for the laughs.

  13. Of course, I have to comment on this one
    Thanks for this entry, Kate! I’m glad we have shared happy memories. I just got back from a camping trip and remembered one time at girl’s camp where we practiced particularly dramatic death scenes in our tent. Remember that? My favorite part of being your friend has always been making you laugh.
    I TOLD you that Stargirl was you all over!
    Sarah

    • Of course. That was one reason for mentioning you…
      You’re quite welcome, Sarah. I miss you. You still pop up in my thoughts occasionally.
      Of course I remember that. Thank you for the laughs.

Leave a Reply

