Another Way To Keep Cool, or Another Thing I Enjoy About My Apartment

We have a window in our bathroom. We had one in our last bathroom, too, but this one is inside the shower. I thought it was annoying until I found it open one morning. My roommate had opened it before I got up and he’d left before I noticed it was open. I didn’t know why he did this: he just decided the bathroom needed to be a little cooler from the night air, he had a particularly smelly session with the toilet and decided that a draft might take away the unpleasantry… I don’t know, but I told myself I was going to close it when I took a shower myself. We’re trying to keep the cool air we hoarde nightly inside. It’s common sense to keep the bathroom window closed. When I did get into the shower, though, I found that window to be a miraculous thing.

Why, it’s just a window. Who cares? Ah, but do you know the feeling of coolness on a hot day when you get out of the pool? How suddenly the air isn’t oppresively hot, but rather chilly? That’s what it feels like, only I’m never in a rush to get dry. The window is small, the water is hot, and a tree greens the view and makes it even cooler. No one can see me because the window only goes down to my neck. And when the water is off and the shower door is open, there’s none of that steamy after-shower heat that I love in the winter; the bathroom door is open and the lights are all off. It creates a small draft through the door and out that screened invention in housing framework. I’m blessedly cool until I get dressed.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on July 28, 2007, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Beautiful! Tis the thing I miss the most about our mountain home!

  2. Beautiful! Tis the thing I miss the most about our mountain home!

  3. Beautiful! Tis the thing I miss the most about our mountain home!

  4. Beautiful! Tis the thing I miss the most about our mountain home!

  5. Beautiful! Tis the thing I miss the most about our mountain home!

  6. Beautiful! Tis the thing I miss the most about our mountain home!

  7. Beautiful! Tis the thing I miss the most about our mountain home!

  8. Beautiful! Tis the thing I miss the most about our mountain home!

  9. Beautiful! Tis the thing I miss the most about our mountain home!

  10. Beautiful! Tis the thing I miss the most about our mountain home!

  11. Beautiful! Tis the thing I miss the most about our mountain home!

  12. Beautiful! Tis the thing I miss the most about our mountain home!

  13. Beautiful! Tis the thing I miss the most about our mountain home!

Leave a Reply

