White Flags and Punishment

I had a set of small epiphanies today; I’ll post two of them.

I’ve realized one reason why summer school has never appealed to me. You’d think it would: short class periods, easy classes as they are, and the shortest semesters available. In high school, summer school was something you had to take because you failed a class during the spring semester. No one ever took summer classes because they wanted to. My parents threatened with summer school. Thus, when people ask me, essentially, if I choose willingly to go to summer school, I laugh outright. Well, duh. No one but the insane chooses punishment.

A cane for the blind is a societal symbol more than a tool for the blind person herself. Yes, it helps to sense my way around, to distinguish between grass, sidewalk, and walking places. But I just finished a book when the majority of the population of the earth goes blind. Everyone picks up sticks and peices of wood eventually and begins tapping with them. This book implies that they used the tapping to warn other blind people that another blind person was there to avoid crashing into one another. But I’ve been in places where lots of blind people work. They don’t like to use their canes in the workplace because it is just a lot of blind people. They’re encouraged to use them because they are tools, but I’m sure they’d rather just use other techniques and drop the obvious flag of blindness.

It’s the same when I’m walking with my cane. That cane is a huge flag to people: steer away from her or she’ll crash into you and create a public embarrassment. People are horribly confused when they see me with a cane at night and not with one during the day. The flag is gone; how can she possibly be blind in one place and not blind in the next? Hm. Ah. Not quite so simple. We are not simply blind or not blind. I happen to be a shade of grey that gets greyer as time slips. But flags are easy to hoist and lower.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on June 14, 2007, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

