Encounters of the Male Kind

On my way home from getting this job, another Kate-admirer was born in the world. I was walking to the bus stop. Along the way, there are taco vendors on the sidewalk. Their carts look similiar to hot dog carts only they have Spanglish written all over them and the tacos are only $1 a pop.

Two days before, I was sitting at the same bus stop when it was rainy and windy and watched the taco vendor next to the stop pull his SUV onto the sidewalk and begin packing up the ingredients of his wares. I talked with him a bit as he was doing so and gained a newfound appreciation of these vendors and the business they run. These guys buy the cart from a company and buy all their supplies. It’s a risky business, doing so, because each man is his own sell point. Since there are several taco carts in this plaza, they’re in direct competititon with each other and really have to work hard to make a profit.

Anyway, I wanted to catch this vendor’s eye, while walking past a few days after the storm, to comment that the weather was much nicer. However, he was on his cell phone and maikng a taco for a customer at the same time, so I gave it up and walked over to my seat. The customer, however, got my attention and said, “Hey, you have beautiful eyes.” He was very sincere, and I blushed a little and thanked him before walking to my seat.

Apparantly, that simple comment wasn’t enough because a few seconds later, after getting his taco, he walked over to the bus bench and held out an unopened water bottle wordlessly toward me. I shamelessly pulled the coy little “Who Me?” stunt, finger pointing to chest, eyes batting and all, and took the gift when he gave his assent. He then sat down next to me and we chatted for a good five minutes. I found he’s from New Orleans and starting school again after getting a year done over there. During the chat, he said something offhand– something like, “Of course, you’re probably married.” You can imagine my response, but that small comment was a new one in lieu of conversations with admirers. I wonder what tipped him off?

After all this, he gracefully concludes by telling me he’s waiting for another bus elsewhere in the courtyard and walks off amiably. And I sat and struggled to get my new water bottle open.

About The Original Kate

Along with artistic tendencies, Kate enjoys unusual people and is constantly striving for some sort of nonconformity. Kate offers a perspective that is thoughtful but well-written and full of images within the words. Other tidbits that might intrigue: she has very long auburn hair, and, you guessed it, her favorite color is orange.

Posted on May 26, 2007, in From Rabid-Mormon Land Known As Utah. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

